Favorite Female Authors

favorite female authors

Hi guys!! Today is International Women’s Day and because of that I decided that I wanted to share with you some of my Favorite Female Authors. For some reason I read mainly books written by female authors but I decided to share some of my favorite with you. These authors are not my only favorites, I have a lot more, but I wanted to keep this post short so I decided to talk about only five authors. So here’s some of my favorite female authors.


diana gabaldon

I may only have read the first book of Outlander and I’ve been trying to finish Dragonfly in Amber for a few months but I love the world and the characters that Diana Gabaldon created. Because of that I thought that I should included her in this list. Also, Outlander is one of my favorite shows so I had to include it 🙂


jane austen

Most of the times I talk about Jane Austen in this blog is not for good reasons. Normally I talk about it because of Emma that is the only Jane Austen book I still have to finish and the only one I really don’t like but I really live her other books, especially Persuasion (that is my favorite) and  Pride and Prejudice. I really like her books and she has been one of my favorite authors for a long time so I had to include Jane Austen  in this list.


rainbow rowell

I could include a lot of YA authors in this post because I love a lot of them but I decided to include Rainbow Rowell who is here to represent every YA author that I like. Rainbow Rowell has to be one of my favorite authors because I love all of her books. There’s no exception here. Even her new short story Kindred Spirits is cute and I really liked it. Also, she wrote one of my favorite contemporary novels, Fangirl, and it wouldn’t be right to write this post without including her.


santa montefiore

Of course I have to talk about a few authors that are not that well-known in this community mainly because they write adult fiction. One of my favorite authors ever, that actually wrote one of my favorite books ever (really, go read Meet me Under the Ombu Tree. It’s amazing) is Santa Montefíore. Her books are always amazing and really well done. I love that the stories she creates go for a lot of years so you really can see the development of the characters.


sarah addison allen

Another not that well-known author that I love is Sarah Addison Allen. Most of her books have magic realism and I love the way she includes it in her stories. Also, I really love the different books she wrote. They are all amazing and really fast to read.


Honorable Mention:

cassandra clare

I know I said that this post would only feature 5 female authors but I have to include Cassandra Clare too. First of all, all love all of her books and the world she created. I know that not everyone agrees with me but I really love her books. Secondly, Lady Midnight came out today so I had to talk about this. Now I’m just going to wait here for my order be dispatched and get here so I can finally read it.


These are a few of my favorite female authors. As I said before I have a lot more favorites but for different reasons I decided not to talk about all of them today. What about you?? Which female authors are your favorites?

20 thoughts on “Favorite Female Authors

  1. If you’re having difficulty reading Emma, do what I did and read it along with the audio. Sometimes those audiobooks help speed those books that you’re having trouble finishing help a lot. At least for me it does.

    Love Jane and Susan Addison Allen! Some good picks there. I’ve gotten two or so books by Montefiore from Netgalley and I’ll bump them up on my tbr list now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy international women’s day! The layout of this post is gorgeous (: the last author you mentioned (I’m blanking already) has beautiful book covers as well! I loved Outlander even though I couldn’t really get into the rest of the series

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those are all fantastic choices! Cassandra Clare and Rainbow Rowell definitely would have made it onto my list as well. The others would have probably been Tahereh Mafi, Huntley Fitzpatrick, Morgan Matson and Stephanie Perkins 🙂 maybe also Josephine Angelini.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cassandra Clare is definitely one of my favourites, I love the Shadowhunter world she has created. I definitely need to find Lady Midnight and give it a read. I never realised when it was going to be released.

    Another love for me is Colleen Hoover and J.K Rowling.

    Like

  5. Pingback: March Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a comment