Book Covers Around the World #2

As you may know, if you follow my blog, I started a new type of posts a couple of weeks ago that is called Book Covers Around the World (click here if you want to read the first post). I’ve had such an amazing feedback after my first post that I decided to do it more often. Today the chosen book is Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I was going to do it for the three books just like what I did for The Lunar Chronicles but I decided that this time I would focus only in one of the books. So let’s start it.

United States

anna_us

As you may know the first cover is the first edition that was released in the US. I was not very fond of this cover but it’s not one of the worst covers that I’ve seen. The thing is that I don’t like faces in covers. However this cover is related to the plot and I actually like that. The re-edition of the book has an amazing cover. I’m one of that persons that was actually happy about the cover changes because I love the second cover. Once again the cover is related to the plot as both of them have the Eiffel Tower and represents Paris.

Portugal

anna_pt

I don’t like the portuguese cover, I don’t know why they did this and I still don’t understand what they had in their minds. I don’t see anything in this cover that is related to the book. Even the girl, she looks nothing like Anna. And as I said before, I don’t like faces in covers. Actually I saw this book in the bookstore even before I learn about the book and this was my first interaction with this book. I can tell that when I saw this I said to myself that I didn’t want to read this book because of its cover, but hey you know what they say, don’t judge a book by its cover. This was the only book that was published in Portugal and they don’t intend to release neither Lola nor Isla. My opinion is that this book was a failure in Portugal because the cover. So, sorry, not sorry.

France

anna_fr

I don’t know what to say about the french cover. It’s not my favorite but it isn’t the worst one. The good thing is that they maintained the theme and the cover represents the book and I like that. In other note, I really like the font that they used for the title.

Italy

anna_it

The italian cover is so cool. This is my second favorite cover for Anna and the French Kiss. Once again the plot is represented in the cover and I like the angle that they used for the photo. If you follow Stephanie Perkins on Twitter you may also know that she likes this cover too because she tweeted about it last week.

Germany

anna_ge

I don’t understand why someone would put croissants in the cover of a book. Why would they do that? You can see that I don’t like the first edition of the german publication. If it wasn’t this cover I would say that the portuguese cover was my least favorite but this cover exists so… The re-edition is a little bit better but I still don’t like faces in book covers. At least this one is related with the book and it’s not only croissants.

Bulgaria

Anna_Cover.indd

I think that this cover had potential but I would like it to have other colours, like brighter colours. It would make such a difference. Another problem is that I don’t like the silhouettes and I would probably take them off. But the cover is not that bad.

Indonesia

anna_indonésia

This cover is really cute, but I see this like a Happy Birthday card or something and not as a book cover. But I’ll give them points for design such a cute cover. I would probably look to this book in a bookstore.

What did you think? Which one is your favourite? Don’t forget, if you want to see the different covers for one particular book tell me in the comments. It could be the next one.

3 thoughts on “Book Covers Around the World #2

  1. My favourite is the Bulgarian one, followed by the Indonesian one, followed by the French one. And you’re right, the German cover with croissants is just stupid and awful. I don’t know what made them design a cover like that. :/ And about the Portuguese one… although I know it doesn’t have anything to do with the book, it’s really catchy. I think it’d grab my attention in a bookstore…

    Like

Leave a comment