I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – Review

Publication Date:

September 16th 2014

Publisher:

Dial Books

Goodreads Synopsis: 

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once

Review:

This was the first book I’ve read that was written by Jandy Nelson and I can tell that I really liked it. This book was beautifully well written and I liked the characters and the fact that the book was told by the perspective of the twins. I also liked that Noah’s point of view was told from the time they were 13 years-old and Jude’s from when they were 16. This is especially good because it let’s us understand what happened in the past and why the twins were not talking to each other in the present when they were so close in the past. Another interesting thing was the fact that in the end all the stories are interconnected and everything is explained. My only problem with this book is that in the beginning it’s really slow and it may become a little bit boring but with the development of the story it becomes a really great book.

Overall this is a great book and if you like to read contemporary coming of age books you should read I’ll Give You the Sun. Not only the story is amazing but the characters are also great and it is really interesting to see their development during the book and how all the characters are interconnected in different ways.

Rating:

4 stars_new

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it?

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – Review

  1. Pingback: Book Recommendations: LGBTQ Books | The Girl Who Read Too Much

  2. Pingback: The Bookish Alphabet Tag! | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s