Because I Love You by Tori Rigby – eARC Review

Because I Love YouPublication Date:

May 17th 2016

Publisher:

Blaze Publishing, LLC

Goodreads Synopsis:

Eight weeks after sixteen-year-old Andie Hamilton gives her virginity to her best friend, “the stick” says she’s pregnant.

Her friends treat her like she’s carrying the plague, her classmates torture and ridicule her, and the boy she thought loved her doesn’t even care. Afraid to experience the next seven months alone, she turns to her ex-boyfriend, Neil Donaghue, a dark-haired, blue-eyed player. With him, she finds comfort and the support she desperately needs to make the hardest decision of her life: whether or not to keep the baby.

Then a tragic accident leads Andie to discover Neil’s keeping a secret that could dramatically alter their lives, and she’s forced to make a choice. But after hearing her son’s heartbeat for the first time, she doesn’t know how she’ll ever be able to let go.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

I’ve read this book as a buddy with my fellow Blogateers Kat @Life and Other Disasters and Cristina @My Tiny Obsessions so you can read their thoughts in this book HERE and HERE.

I’m pretty sure I never read a book with teen pregnancy. If I did I really can’t remember about it. But anyway, seeing that I never read a book with teen pregnancy I didn’t know what to expect from this one. Also, I’m going to be honest here… I requested this book from NetGalley mostly because it had a cute cover. It also helped that Kat and Cristina were requesting it too and that we would be reading it together XD.

This book was a complete surprise to me. In the beginning I was a little bit scared because I thought church would play a big role in the story and I don’t know if I could have handled a story like that. I just can’t deal with judgmental books and I’m pretty sure that if church played a big role on it there would be a lot of judgement all around the place. So I was quite surprised when I read this book and saw the turn it took. Let’s just say I really, really, really loved this book. It was amazing and so touching. This is a book about teen pregnancy but it was also about a lot of other things too and that was one of my favorite things about this book. It’s also about adoption, family, friendship, having a great support system during difficult times, realizing who your real friends are and tons of other stuff. I loved how it handled with so many different subjects.

I really liked the main characters in this book. Andie was an amazing character even with everything happening to her. She could be a little bit frustrating sometimes but what can you expect from a pregnant 16 year-old that lost her two best friends in the most difficult time of her life?? But I really liked her throughout the book and I loved how much she grew. Neil was just amazing and so swoon-worthy. I loved him and I loved how much he cared about Andie and her baby. Those two were perfect for each other and I loved how much he helped Andie in the moments she needed the most. Can I have a slightly older Neil in my life too?? That would be awesome XD. And then we have Jill who is probably the most awesome best-friend to ever exist and I loved how supportive she was. The three of them were just an amazing trio and I loved how Neil and Jill were always there for Andie when it looked like she had lost everything.

The writing itself was also pretty good. I loved how Tori Rigby told the story and I loved Andie’s voice. It was a really enjoyable book and I loved how easily it flew. This book made me smile, laugh and even cry and I love that it brought all the feels. Most of the times I didn’t want to stop reading because the book was really good and I loved it.

Overall, Because I Love You was an amazing surprise. I wasn’t expecting to love it so much and being so emotionally invested in the story. If you think this is just a teen pregnancy story you’re wrong. This book deals with a lot of things and because of that I have to 100% recommend it. I can’t wait to read the other books Tori Rigby will write.

Rating:

4.5 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

6 thoughts on “Because I Love You by Tori Rigby – eARC Review

  1. Great review! I haven’t read any books about teen pregnancy yet either, but I’ve heard of a lot of new books featuring this topic. I’m glad that you really enjoyed this book! I would have been tentative for the same reasons you mentioned, plus, well, it’s easy for a book like this to be preachy. I’m glad you enjoyed it, and I’ll add it to my future TBR!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Favorite Books of 2016… So Far | The Girl Who Read Too Much

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – October | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a comment