Book Traveling Thursdays #15 – Thanksgiving Time

Today is thursday which means that is Book Traveling Thursdays, a weekly meme created by me and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. This weekly meme consists in picking a book related to the weekly theme that is announced in the group Goodreads page (if you want to join click here) at the beginning of each month. After that you can write a blog post where you explain why you choose that book and choose different covers from different countries. To make it a little bit easy you are going to choose different editions of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. Because today is Thanksgiving (and by the way, Happy Thanksgiving to everyone who celebrates it) this weeks theme is It’s Thanksgiving Time! Choose a book you’re thankful for. For this week I decided to choose a book that I absolutely adore and that I’m thankful that I’ve read. The book is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Let’s go see some covers.

Original Cover:

original

I do like the original cover. It’s not my favorite but I love the fact that represents the plot. I also love the colors mainly because it’s also related to the plot.

Cover from my Country (Portugal):

pt

This cover is also the cover of the US paperback edition and it’s beautiful. This is actually the edition that I have and I have to say that when I bought this book I did it because the cover was gorgeous. I love the colors and it also reminds me of the plot. This cover is just beautiful.

Favorite Covers:

favorites

As I said before I love the portuguese cover. I also think that the two Vintage Editions are beautiful. I love how the first one has the colors inverted and the second one is just different and I love it. I also like the Indonesian cover. The graphics are similar to the portuguese cover but I love how they decided to use different colors even though I love the black and white.

Least Favorite Covers:

least favorites

Is anyone surprised that the Russian cover is in my least favorite covers again? I’m not. This cover could have been amazing but they decided to put faces in there and I don’t like it. It totally ruined the cover. The Spanish cover reminds me of  a children’s book and not The Night Circus. I think that the Danish and Japanese covers are lacking something and that’s the reason why I don’t like them. There’s something missing that could have made them great covers.

So this is it, this week Book Traveling Thursdays. What did you think of these covers? Tell me in the comments 🙂 .

27 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays #15 – Thanksgiving Time

  1. Wow, I just joined your group on goodreads! I think I’ll start doing this after my exams, though… Soon, I won’t have much time to post on my blog… *sighs*
    But I’ll totally start doing this in December!
    And, OMG, I LOVE The Night Circus! It’s so… magical 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      • The first year is always the worst, especially the 1st semester. I failed a few classes in my first semester because I wasn’t used to have to study so much but I ended up getting my degree in 3 years anyway. It’s pretty normal if it’s being a rollercoaster to you but in the end you know it was worth it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Like you, I didn’t really study much at highschool. I mean, of course I used to study a lot, but now is different, of course… I actually had good grades on my first exams. Now, I have to study harder! I just have to think that, soon, I can relax and read a lot and watch TV 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post Catia! That Indonesian cover is so beautiful! I think I would have to pick that one as my favorite! I don’t think the Japanese cover is that bad, but like you said, it’s missing something that makes it great. There are times when faces work and others don’t, but for some reason I like the Russian cover! I have no idea why I do. ;D I also did a Book Traveling Thursday on my blog as well where I showed the covers of Maybe Someday! Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have the edition you have and I am currently reading it. Merlin’s Pants! You were so right about the writing style and atmosphere. It is so so good. I cannot wait for Term Ends to get over, so I that I will read it all, whilst I am on a day long plane journey. Yay!! :))

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: November Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

