Beyond the Books #2

beyond the books header 4

Hi guys! Last month I started a new monthly series called Beyond the Books where I talk about all the random things I’ve been watching or loving during that month and you seemed to have liked it so let’s keep doing this. If I thought that July was a great month August was even better, at least in terms of TV shows watched. I watched a lot of things and that hasn’t been happening for a long time. It’s good to be back to my normal self that loves to watch TV shows XD. So yeah, August has been a good month Beyond the Books so let’s see what I’ve been watching and listening to.

tv shows

Poldark

As I told you last month on my first Beyond the Books post, I’ve started Poldark. At that time I was halfway through season 1 and I had 4 episodes left to watch. Once again, I LOVE THAT SHOW! That season finale was so intense and broke my heart to tiny little pieces. I love Romelza even if Ross is an ass sometimes and I hope Elizabeth doesn’t get in the way in the next season because she doesn’t deserve Ross at all. Also, Romelza is amazing so who wouldn’t want Ross and Elizabeth together? Now I just have to wait for season 2 that actually premieres next sunday but that I probably won’t watch until the season is over because I don’t like to wait. That’s why IK normally don’t watch TV shows when they’re airing, I can’t wait a week for the next episode XD.

Free!

free__iwatobi_swim_club_logo

Last month I watched Sailor Moon Crystal and while I still have to watch season 3 I wasn’t in the mood to watch it this month. In the beginning of the month I was talking with a friend and he watches a lot of anime and he told me I would probably love Free!. He wasn’t the first person telling me this and it wasn’t the first Free! for some random reason. Actually, I think it was a good idea to watch it in August because the Olympics were on and one of my favorite sports to watch during the Olympics is swimming and this anime is all about swimming. I really liked Free! and it was better than I was expecting but it was still weird sometimes. It’s cool but weird… at least it’s a good weird and not a bad weird right? I’ll be watching season 2 soon for sure.

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

After months and months I finally watched season 2 of Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. I watched season 1 last year and I loved it. I was waiting for season 2 but for some reason I watched about 3 episodes when it came out and stopped so it was time to come back to watch Kimmy Schmidt and finally finish season 2. Once again, amazing. I loved it and it was as funny as season 1. I can’t even describe how much I love this show, especially Ellie Kemper and Tituss Burgess. They are the best part of this show without any doubt. The second best part of the show is the opening. That song is so catchy XD. Also, season 2 had a lot of amazing guests since Tina Fey, to Anna Camp, to Lisa Kudrow. Even Joshua Jackson appeared in one episode where he did a Dawson’s Creek joke and I loved it. I can’t wait for season 3.

Supernatural

Supernatural is one of those shows that I’ve been watching for years. I actually started watching Supernatural when it first started and my 15 years-old self loved that show and this is saying a lot because the show was super creepy and I hated (and still hate) creepy things (also, I still haven’t forgotten the episode Bloody Mary that scared me to life back when I was 15). I stopped watching Supernatural about a year later but came back about 6 or 7 years ago and I still love that show. Season 11 ended on the end of May but I still had 5 episodes to watch and with season 12 starting in a little bit over a month i had to finish season 11. Once again, I loved it. However, I’m happy that this Amara/The Darkness thing is over because I wasn’t liking the Amara/Dean thing that was happening. I can’t wait to see what’s happening in season 12 because things changed in that last episode. There’s someone who’s back and I’m pretty sure that someone will change the dynamics of the show. Also, I read that they are planning on going back to the show’s roots which means that they won’t focus on a main plot and I can’t wait to see that.

UnREAL

Question: Does it really count when I only watched one episode of UnREAL this month?? I’ll say it does because I want to talk about UnREAL and because August is not over so I’ll probably watch more episodes XD. Last year, around this time, I decided I wanted to watch UnREAL. I didn’t know a lot about the show. I knew it was about the behind the scenes of a reality show similar to The Bachelor and I knew that Shiri Appleby was on it. I haven’t seen anything that she has done since Roswell which is a shame because I really like her so I decided to give UnREAL a chance. I might have binge-watched that show year and I loved all the drama. I was really anticipating season 2 but I wanted to wait to have all the episodes available so I waited until now to start it. Because I only watched one episode I can’t say if I love this season as much as season 1 but it’s great to have Rachel and Quinn back on my life. Don’t worry, I’ll tell you what I thought about season 2 next month :D.

movies

Ella Enchanted

Ella Enchanted is one of those movies that I’ve watched way more times than I needed. This is another of those movies that I’ll watch if it’s on TV and it was on TV in the beginning of the month so you can see what happened XD. This is one of those movies that I really like. I know that the movie is not a masterpiece but it’s entertaining and I like Anne Hathaway and Hugh Dancy. I also really like the musical sequences. Anne Hathaway singing Somebody to Love is iconic. Do I think the show has some ridiculous scenes?? Yep. Do I care that those scenes are kind of ridiculous?? Not really. I still love the movie.

XOXO

XOXO is a Netfilx movie that premiered 3 days ago. I actually watched the trailer in the beginning of the month and I was immediately interested for some reason so I watched dit almost right away. The trailer looks really cool okay? This movie is about a rave festival and follows six different characters which paths cross during the day in which the movie is set. I really liked the movie but it got weird sometimes. There’s a sequence in which a character is under the influence of some hallucinogenic drugs and that sh*t was weird. I still liked the movie and it was a nice surprise. It was pretty cool. Here’s some things I learned from this movie: EDM festivals are crazy and I want glow in the dark buns because those things are awesome and would look amazing on my hair XD. Anyway, XOXO was a pretty nice surprise and I really liked it (even if it was weird at some times).

A Walk to Remember

I know I watched A Walk to Remember last month but it was on TV again yesterday and I watched it again. I already said this before, I love this movie with all my heart and if it’s on TV I’ll watch it because I just have too and that’s why I already watched this movie tons of times. I just love it.

music

Once again, I’ve been listening to some of the same songs I was obsessed with last month but this month I got a few new obsessions. Some of my new favorites that I’ve been listening almost every day are:

I’ve also been listening to a lot of old school Taylor Swift. Don’t get me wrong, I love Taylor Swift. I know a lot of people don’t but I’ve loved Taylor Swift since 2008 and while I really like the songs from 1989 sometimes I forget how much I love old school Taylor and I start listening to some of her old songs that I love. That’s what’s been happening in August.

There are a few more songs I’ve been listening to constantly during August so I’ll leave you with a playlist of some of those songs :D.

 

others

Snapchat

I’ve had Snapchat for a long time. I think I got it about 2 years ago when it still wasn’t big but I didn’t use it too much. I still don’t but I normally test the new filters daily because it’s funny and I love it and I’ve been doing that even more often this month. I also really like to see other people snaps… it’s funny. If you want with can add me at catiinha (I don’t know why you would but if you want to go ahead). It’d basically the same handle I use for Instagram and it’s not the same I use on Twitter because someone is already using it XD.

Rio 2016 Olympics

I’m one of those people who hates sports but then the Olympics starts and watches everything XD. I love the Olympics and I really like to watch it, especially gymnastics, swimming and athletics. Once again, Portugal only got one bronze medal in judo but it was still pretty good because we don’t have as much people as some countries on the Olympics and our athletes don’t have as much financing as other countries so I’m still proud of our athletes. We also got really close to medals in other sports but in Tokyo will be better.

Clevver Style

clevver style

I’m pretty sure you know I watch way more Youtube videos than I should. I do but I love Youtube videos. I found Clevver Style a few months ago and this has become one of my favorite Youtube channel without any doubt. I love all the shows they have and they are always so funny. If I’m watching one of their videos I know I’ll laugh a lot. They have really funny videos and it helps that Lily, Jocelyn, Erin and everyone else is funny as well.


Here’s what I’ve been doing Beyond the Books during August. I’ll be back next month where I’ll definitely talk more about UnREAL and maybe Poldark and Free!. One thing I’ll be talking for sure is Hit the Floor because there’s one week left until the Summer Special and the anticipation is killing me. I need that now. If you like any of the things that I’ve talked about don’t forget to comment too so we can fangirl about it :D. And if you have any recommendation don’t forget to tell me in the comments.

28 thoughts on “Beyond the Books #2

  1. GUURL, it’s such a good idea for a post! Can I steal it? :’)

    I just clicked download A Walk to Remember. Definitely going to watch this movie soon (maybe even today). I was forgot that I wanted to watch this, but you just reminded me.
    You have a good taste on music! I added some of them to my list! SPOTIFY is the BEST.
    hahah, same with sport. I’m not really a huge fan, but I loved seeing gymnastic, swimming in Olympics!
    YouTube is the BEST. I can’t stop watching videos. Everyday, all day..:D I definitely going to stalk this channel!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you. Of course you can. Can’t wait to see what you’re watchin too 🙂
      A Walk to Remember is amzing but super sad too. I really hope you enjoy it. I also hope you love Clevver Style because those girls are super funny :D.
      It’s good to know that my playlist helped 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    • Right?? It’s a really good movie… and heartbreaking.
      I already know that UnREAL will be a rollercoaster. Kat was keeping me updated while she was still watching it and I already know it won’t be an easy season. I’m pretty sure it will be awesome anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – August | The Girl Who Read Too Much

  3. Pingback: Beyond the Books / August – MY PASSION IS HAPPINESS

  4. Pingback: Beyond the Books / August – MY PASSION IS HAPPINESS

  5. I watched the first one or two episodes of UnBreakable, but just didn’t enjoy it… I don’t know, I guess it’s just not the show for me. I’m so happy you started supernatural again! I got into it about 1-2 years ago and I absolutely love it. I haven’t finished season 11 because I watch it with my family and we’ve all been busy, but I still love it. That Bloody Mary episode freaked me out (I watched it at like 12 am alone in the dark, not the best idea I’ve had…) I haven’t seen Poldark, but I’ve been wanting to, but I’m just curious, is there nudity?
    Also, I love this Beyond the Books meme thingy you have!

    Like

Leave a Reply

