Chased (Part 1 and 2) by Piper Lawson – eARC Review

Chased: Part 1 (Chased, #1)Publication Date:

May 4th, 2016

Publisher:

Victory Editing

Goodreads Synopsis:

Being a twenty-one-year-old screw-up has its perks. I can sleepwalk through class, drink all day and nail anything that walks.

Easy f#$%*ing peasy.

Sure, I used to be the fastest guy at Fielding College. I’ve broken more track records than anyone on the West Coast. But my life as an athlete feels like a different universe. A different Chase Owens.

Since my world fell apart last year, all I want is to be left the hell alone.

Ariel Hastings isn’t just a wrench in that plan, she’s a bomb. The quiet girl shows up out of nowhere and suddenly our fates are tied together. She wants to run with me, learn from me, even live with me…

Basically everything but f*ck me.

Now I’m spending too much time around her. I’m craving something she won’t give me and I sure as hell can’t ask for.

Because we’ve both got pasts that aren’t ready to let go. Even if I can survive hers, I know we can’t outrun mine.

***

CHASED includes 2 parts (approx 35k words each) with an HEA. It’s 2 POV mostly male with f-bombs and steamy scenes. For 18+

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Once again this was a buddy read with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions so click HERE to read her thoughts about this book :).

When I requested this book from NetGalley I wasn’t 100% sure that it would feature part 1 and 2 but good thing it did because I don’t if I could wait for Part 2. My biggest problem when books are split like this is that most of the times there is no reason to stop, it could be one book only, but then we have to wait months for Part 2 (believe me, it already happened to me once. Also, I loved Part 2 way more than 1, and both complemented each other pretty well, but if I didn’t had both parts my rating would be lower.

I really enjoyed the characters in this book. Ariel might look like a really shy person but she still stands for herself and fights for what she wants. Chase was a complex character and while he might look like a jerk at first he really cares about the people he loves. Both of them had difficult things happening to them in their past but it was worst for Chase and his past is the main reason he is like he is. Their relationship development was pretty amazing too. I love how they started as friends and trying to help each other reaching their objectives and only then it developed something more. I also liked to see them finding stuff about each other a lot. This is one of that books when you actually see the main characters talking about a lot of things.

Part 2 of this book really surprised me because I wasn’t expecting it to take a dark turn but I loved it anyway and it was something that help the characters development a little bit more. Another thing I loved was the writing and the dual POV. My only big problem is that in the beginning the introduction of the characters was too fast. I would love if the first chapters were a little bit slower.

Overall, this was an enjoyable read. If you love new adult romances with some dark twists you should give this one a try (but get both parts at the same time so you don’t have to wait to read everything 😀 ).

Rating:

4 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

7 thoughts on “Chased (Part 1 and 2) by Piper Lawson – eARC Review

  1. Great Review!
    I have actually requested this book from NetGalley so now I have my fingers crossed even more that I get accepted.
    I’m glad it came with both parts, it would of been super frustrating to like a book so much and have to wait for part 2 on a cliffhanger or split.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope your request is accepted and that you like it.
      I once requested a book from NetGalley and I had no idea it had two parts so it ended in a kind of cliffhanger and part 2 only came out 4 or 5 months later. It was so frustrating especially because once again part 2 was way better than 1.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – May | The Girl Who Read Too Much

  3. Pingback: PLAY by Piper Lawson – eARC Review | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

