Gone Wild by Jodi Lundgren – eARC Review

Gone WildPublication Date:

September 1st, 2016

Publisher:

Lorimer

Goodreads Synopsis:

Bullied in foster care and then by his adoptive mother’s boyfriend, Seth decides to head out on his own. Brooke thinks she might be pregnant and, instead of facing her controlling mother, she runs. The strangers meet in a wilderness park on Vancouver Island, where basic survival is a challenge. As they work together to find food, water, and shelter, they find the strength to take control of their own lives.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

This was a buddy read with Kat @ Life and Other Disasters so click HERE to read her thoughts about this book :).

I don’t even know how to review this book. To be honest this was more like a novella than a full length novel and that really affected my reading experience because nothing really happened and I wasn’t able to even connect with the characters. This book was so short that I finished it in around 2 or 3 hours without reading the full 3 hours.

I can see where Seth, one of the main characters was coming. The guy had a shitty life and I kind of understand why he ran away but he was so dumb. Who runs away to the forest without taking food, water and warm clothes?? Brooke’s life wasn’t a shitty but I also see why she needed a few days away from her family and boyfriend. She needed to re-evaluate her life and she was more prepared than Seth to go camping. I can definitely say that I felt bad for these two right from the beginning because they didn’t have an easy life, especially Seth. I liked that by the end they really re-evaluated their lives but while I enjoyed the conclusion of Seth’s story I still think I wanted to know what would happen to Brooke because she didn’t had a proper ending. You just know what she’s planning to do and that’s it. It was kind of weird. What I can’t really understand was why it took Seth and Brooke so long to meet. Until the moment they met the book had a weird pacing and because of that it wasn’t as enjoyable as I wanted.

The book itself and the writing is not bad. I liked it but it was so short that there wasn’t a connection with the characters and I think there was a lot that was left out that could make this book way better.

Overall, this wasn’t a bad book. My only real problem with this book was the size and the weird pacing. There was also a few WTF moments but I think that if the book was more substantial these moments wouldn’t make me like this book less, I just think this book is missing a lot and it wasn’t as deep as it could have been.

Rating:

2.5 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

4 thoughts on “Gone Wild by Jodi Lundgren – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: August 2016 Wrap Up « Life and Other Disasters

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – August | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

