The Do-Over by L.E. Bross – eARC Review

The Do-OverPublication Date:

March 28th, 2016

Publisher:

Pocket Star

Goodreads Synopsis:

L. E. Bross’s contemporary romance debut is a fun and sexy tale of unlikely lovers struggling to leave the past where it belongs—behind them—and embrace a bright future.

Melanie McAllister’s brand new copy of Home Improvement for Dummies doesn’t even begin to cover the DIY advice she really needs: how to put the pieces of her life back together. Her cheating ex-husband’s insider trading scandal destroyed her family’s multi-million dollar company and left Mel with nothing but the run-down oceanfront cottage she inherited from her parents. Biscay Beach, Maine, seems as good a place to start over as any.

Hot-as-hell carpenter Eli Stuart understands new beginnings. Once a rising star in the art world, the former sculptor has been secretly carving out a new existence in the small coastal town ever since the sheen on his old life turned to rust. He’s willing to bet the feisty brunette in need of major home repairs has never lifted a tool heavier than a nail file—until Mel is racing the clock to make her ramshackle home fit for winter and, facing a near-empty bank account, decides she can do it all herself.

So Eli offers Mel a deal: if she helps him with the renovations, he’ll cut the bill in half. Soon Mel and her damned home improvement book are driving Eli mad with an explosive urge to return to his studio and fire up his torch once more. His new work is crude and raw, and before long, he can’t keep his hands off Mel, either. But a muse from his past could ruin it all for the second time—if Eli and Mel can’t let go of who they used to be and trust their hearts with a do-over.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Once again I read this book as a buddy read with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions so go check her blog to see because her review is going to be up soon :). Also, Before I start this review let me tell you that if you don’t feel comfortable reading some mature content or if you’re too young this book is not for you. This in adult romance and a lot of people might not be comfortable with some of the scenes.

If you’ve been following me for quite few time you might know that two of my favorite books of 2015 were Right Where you Are and Whatever it Takes by L.E. Bross. Because of that I was really excited to read this book. Having read some of her books before I know how amazing L.E. Bross is on writing romance and how amazing her characters are.

I really enjoyed this book and the story. I had a few problems in the beginning because it was too slow but luckily it got so much better. I didn’t like the main character, Mel, that much and because of that I wasn’t able to connect with her. Yes, I understood where she was coming from but sometimes I couldn’t understand some of her attitudes. Eli was a whole different story, I really liked him. If you want a book with a really good male character you need to read some of L.E. Bross books because she has the most amazing male characters ever. Eli is no Ryan (from Whatever it Takes) but I really liked him and I liked how much he tried to help Mel even if in the beginning she didn’t deserve it at all. I also really enjoyed the fact that this book was told in a dual POV. I also really liked the side characters. Mel’s sister, Liesl, was the best and I loved every scene she was on. Sometimes that girl was hilarious and I couldn’t stop laughing. I wouldn’t mind to read a prequel about how Liesl and her husband, Dave, met. I just think that both of them were a big part of this book and I would love to know more about them.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It’s not my favorite L.E. Bross book (Ryan and Tess ruined me for other couples, okay?) but it’s was still really good. I loved how it was about second chances and to find out who you really is. I said this before and I’ll keep saying it, if you need a good romance go read L.E. Bross books because they are great.

Rating:

4 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

10 thoughts on “The Do-Over by L.E. Bross – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: The Do-Over (L.E. Bross) – My Tiny Obsessions

  2. Pingback: March Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a comment