Finding London (Flawed Heart #1) by Ellie Wade – eARC Review

Finding LondonPublication Date:

May 25th, 2016

Publisher:

Barclay Publicity

Goodreads Synopsis:

London Wright thought she’d been in love before, but she hadn’t—not even close.

Then she met him.

Rugged and gorgeous, Loïc Berkeley, a special forces soldier is everything she’s ever wanted. Getting him to notice her was a challenge, but keeping his love is proving to be more difficult.

London’s used to getting what she wants so loving someone like Loïc is a humbling and somewhat terrifying experience. For everything she has in her life, he’s the one thing she can’t bear to lose.

Loïc Berkeley never wanted love. He views it as an unneeded distraction that causes nothing but pain. Love, for Loïc, always ends in disappointment.

Then he met her.

Spoiled, witty, and breathtakingly beautiful London Wright is his undoing. From the moment he laid eyes on her, he knew his life would never be the same. Though he tries to fight it, he finds himself falling for her.

Having lived a life full of sorrow, finding London brought Loïc rare happiness. Though his feelings for her are strong, is what they have powerful enough to break the cycle of his past?

When one is destined for heartbreak and loss, can love really change anything?

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Once again this was a buddy read with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions so click HERE to read her thoughts about this book :).

First of all let’s all admire how gorgeous this cover is. Really? Who did this gorgeous thing?? I want this on my bookshelf right now. Actually, I might have requested this book from NetGalley partially because of the amazing cover XD.

Okay, let’s stop talking about the book cover and let’s talk about the book. I really liked this book but I still had a few problems with it. My main problem was the main character London. Don’t get me wrong, I did like London but most of the times she a spoiled little brat. She never needed anything. Her family is rich and she never had any difficulty but if you say you should start looking for a job please don’t say you didn’t yet because you were too busy pursuing a guy and then you were too busy looking at the same guy. Just stop please. As much as I liked London this really got me mad sometimes and I did get frustrated with her. In the opposite end we have Loïc. I loved Loïc. He had difficult time growing up and because of that he didn’t like to get close to anyone. I loved to see his story and his development. If there’s something London did right was helping Loïc move on from what happened in his past. I also really liked the side characters. I loved Loïc’s friends, Cooper and Maggie, and how much he loved and trusted them. I really liked London’s best-friend, Paige, too even if she was a little bit weird. I would love to know more about these characters.

The story itself was pretty normal. Their relationship started out a little bit as instalove but in the end I really liked to see them together. However, my favorite chapters were the ones that were told from Loïc’s POV in the past. Those chapters were so sad and heartbreaking but they were great to show why Loïc is the way he is. The end was a little bit too abrupt. I was shocked when the book ended. It didn’t end in a cliffhanger but there were a few things that could have been explored a little bit more. This could have been a bigger problem to me but since I know this is the first book in a series I understand that not everything would be discussed in the first book.

Overall, I did like this new adult romance but I think that there are a few things that could have been better. I will want to read the next two books anyway because I want to know what will happen between London and Loïc.

Rating:

4 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

5 thoughts on “Finding London (Flawed Heart #1) by Ellie Wade – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – May | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a comment