Book Traveling Thursdays #33 – Favorite Classic

Today is thursday which means that is Book Traveling Thursdays, a weekly meme created by me and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. This weekly meme consists in picking a book related to the weekly theme that is announced in the group Goodreads page (if you want to join click here) at the beginning of each month. After that you can write a blog post where you explain why you choose that book and choose different covers from different countries. To make it a little bit easy you are going to choose different editions of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. This weeks theme is All of us have read Classics at some point of our life. Choose your favorite Classic. For this week theme I decided to choose one of my favorite classics ever and that classic is The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I absolutely loved that book so I had to choose it. Because this is a classic this book has a lot of covers. I haven’t seen all of the covers so it’s possible that are other good or bad covers out there. So let’s see a few covers for this book.

Original Cover:

original

I’m not sure this is the original cover but I think it might be. I really like this cover. I think it’s one of that iconic covers when you don’t have to see the name of the book to know which one it is. I really, really like it.

Covers from my Country (Portugal):

the great gatsby pt covers

This book has more editions in Portugal than what I was expecting. The first one is the one I own. It’s not the most beautiful thing in the world but it was cheap so I bought it.  I really don’t like the second cover and I’m pretty sure that book came out with a magazine years ago. The third cover is not bad but I don’t like it as much as the last one. I really like how simple the last one is. It’s gorgeous.

Favorite Covers:

the great gatsby favorite covers

As I said before, I really like the original cover and the portuguese one. My overall favorite is the second cover. It’s gorgeous. I already had that edition on my hands and it’s even better live. The third one is another of my favorites because I really like these Vintage Classics editions. They are always so beautiful.

Least Favorite Covers:

the great gatsby least favorite covers

These covers are just bad. My problem with the first two is that I don’t like when publishers use that images that show a scene. I really don’t like it, especially because that pictures always have a terrible quality. The last one (from Italy) I don’t like it because I don’t understand why they used the car two times. Was it really necessary??

So this is it, this week Book Traveling Thursdays. What did you think of these covers? Tell me in the comments 🙂

 

17 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays #33 – Favorite Classic

  1. The Great Gatsby is my favourite classic too, I actually have the middle bad one. I got that copy from when I was back in School and they gave us those copies to read. I repurchased the book in the 70th Anniversary Hardcover edition for my collection though 🙂
    It’s this copy http://www.bookdepository.com/The-Great-Gatsby-F-Scott-Fitzgerald-Tony-Tanner/9780141194059?ref=grid-view . I love it. however I love the penguin classics version, expecially as they are consistent with the other classics they publish so if you get a few they look consistent and really nice together on your book shelf!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: March Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a comment