Cross Check (Bayard Hockey #2) by Kelly Jamieson – eARC Review

Cross CheckPublication Date:

July 25th 2017

Publisher:

Loveswept

Goodreads Synopsis:

A party girl and a clean-cut college hockey player discover that they’re not so different in this sexy, soulful Bayard Hockey novel from the bestselling author of Shut Out and the Heller Brothers series.

Ella Verran has three goals this semester: get off academic probation, repair her relationship with her friend Skylar, and take some responsibility for her life. All of which are hard enough without hot, snobby hockey player Ben Buckingham around to distract her. Ella can’t stand Ben, and she knows the feeling is mutual. But he’s best friends with Skylar’s boyfriend, so he’s always around—taunting and tempting Ella in ways she never thought possible.

As the star forward of the Bayard College hockey team, Ben has goals too, like playing well enough to land a spot on an NHL roster. Ben is perfectly poised on the ice, so why can’t he keep his cool around Ella? Her wild behavior rubs him in all the wrong ways—and a few of the right ones. But as they skate around each other, Ben learns that there’s more to Ella than her bad reputation. And when the line between love and hate starts to blur, he can’t resist crossing over and sweeping her off her feet.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Once again this was a buddy read with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions so click HERE to read her thoughts about this book :).

Around this time last year I read the first book in the Bayard Hockey series, Shut Out, which would be my first Kelly Jamieson book ever. Cue to over a year later and a lot of Kelly Jamieson books that I loved and I finally got the opportunity to read the second book in the series and I’m so happy I did it because once again I quite enjoyed one of Kelly’s books.

Once again, I really enjoyed the characters in this book. I have to tell you that Ella wasn’t my favorite character in the first book but she ended up growing on me. Being in her head and seeing why she acted the way she did in the first book was quite heartbreaking but I loved how much Ella grew and learned with the things that happened in the past. I really loved how strong Ella was and how she knew what she wanted even if she was quite lost at one point of her life. I also loved her relationship with Skylar. That’s something that I missed a lot in the first book so seeing them reconnecting was really awesome. I also loved Ben. He was such a great guy. I know he could be kind of judgemental at some times but as soon as he started to know the real Ella he changed. I also loved their relationship and how much they supported each other. Here’s the thing, both Ella and Ben had some bad things happening in their pasts so seeing them opening about their struggles and supporting each other was amazing. They also had an amazing chemistry that you could sense from the beginning even if they hated each others guts at that point.

Just like Shut Out, this book deals with some sensitive subjects and it’s something that might not be easy to read to some people. I really enjoyed how it still talked about sexual assault and consent, just like in the first, but it also included mental illness. In my opinion these are some important topics that should be talked about even if it’s not easy and even if not everyone would like to read about those.

Another thing I really liked was the writing style. By now I’m totally used to Kelly Jamieson’s writing and while this book is a little bit different from most of her books in terms of writing I still think the writing flew pretty easily and I loved that it had dual POV but we could still differentiate Ben and Ella’s voices. It was a really enjoyable book.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I loved the story and I loved the characters. I know I’ve read a lot of Kelly Jamieson’s books in the past year but I can tell you that it’s something that won’t change anytime soon because she’s becoming one of my favorite authors.

Rating:

4 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

One thought on “Cross Check (Bayard Hockey #2) by Kelly Jamieson – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – July 2017 | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

