Noteworthy by Riley Redgate – eARC Review

NoteworthyPublication Date:

May 2nd 2017

Publisher:

Amulet Books

Goodreads Synopsis:

It’s the start of Jordan Sun’s junior year at the Kensington-Blaine Boarding School for the Performing Arts. Unfortunately, she’s an Alto 2, which—in the musical theatre world—is sort of like being a vulture in the wild: She has a spot in the ecosystem, but nobody’s falling over themselves to express their appreciation. So it’s no surprise when she gets shut out of the fall musical for the third year straight.

Then the school gets a mass email: A spot has opened up in the Sharpshooters, Kensington’s elite a cappella octet. Worshiped … revered … all male. Desperate to prove herself, Jordan auditions in her most convincing drag, and it turns out that Jordan Sun, Tenor 1, is exactly what the Sharps are looking for.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Last year I read Riley Redgate’s debut novel, Seven Ways We Lie, and I loved it so I was really excited for this one. I’ve gotten even more excited with all the amazing reviews I read about this book. However, I ended up a little bit disappointed. I ended up enjoying this book but the beginning didn’t work for and because of that it took me a long time to finish this book.

One of the things I liked in this book were the characters. I kind of liked Jordan but I had a hard time to connect with her. She’s a flawed character, which is great because no one is perfect, but I had a hard time getting her. I understand why she did what she did but she would frustrate me sometimes. I do think she grew up a lot with everything that happened to her and she ended up growing in me a lot. I did love the guys from the Sharpshooters a lot. They were amazing and I loved the connection they had between them. Also, Isaac and Nihal were some of my favorite characters. I would have loved this book so much more if they showed up even more XD. I also really enjoyed the diversity in this book. Jordan is a chinese-american bisexual girl but there are other diverse aspects in this book I loved. However, one of my favorite parts of this book was the a capella storyline. I loved everything about it.

While I enjoyed this book I have to say that it took me a long time to get into it. In the beginning it was just too slow and I couldn’t make myself read it. Noteworthy is split in three parts and I can tell you that I really enjoyed it after part 2.

Overall, this ended up being a really cool book. It’s true that it took me a long time to get into but the story and the characters really grew a lot in me. I especially loved the connection between the Sharpshooters. While I was still a little bit disappointed with this book I still can’t wait to read Riley Redgate’s next book.

Rating:

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

One thought on “Noteworthy by Riley Redgate – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – May 2017 | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

