Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner – eARC Review

Goodbye DaysPublication Date:

April 6th 2017

Publisher:

Andersen

Goodreads Synopsis:

Can a text message destroy your life?

Carver Briggs never thought a simple text would cause a fatal crash, killing his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. Now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, there could be a criminal investigation into the deaths.

Then Blake’s grandmother asks Carver to remember her grandson with a ‘goodbye day’ together. Carver has his misgivings, but he starts to help the families of his lost friends grieve with their own memorial days, along with Eli’s bereaved girlfriend Jesmyn. But not everyone is willing to forgive. Carver’s own despair and guilt threatens to pull him under into panic and anxiety as he faces punishment for his terrible mistake. Can the goodbye days really help?

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

I’ve read this book as a buddy with my fellow Blogateers Kat @Life and Other Disasters and Cristina @My Tiny Obsessions so you can read their thoughts in this book HERE and HERE.

Last year everyone was talking about, and loving, The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner but for some reason I ended up not reading it. However, after hearing so much about it, and when I saw Goodbye Days on NetGalley, I decided I wanted to read it so I requested the book, twice, and got approved, twice. It was the first time it happened but it was funny to end up with two digital copies of this book XD. Because it was my first Jeff Zentner book I didn’t know what to expect. I knew it would probably be heartbreaking (and it was) but I knew nothing else.

Carver, the main character was a great guy. I loved to read this book from his point of view. While he feels guilty about what happened to his friends it was still really cool to read when he was remembering about them and getting to know his friends from that scenes. It still hurt sometimes to read from his POV due to his grief and the guilt he felt but I really enjoyed his character development and he coming to the terms of his best friends deaths. I also loved the idea behind the “goodbye days”, even when some of them were kind of weird. It’s a good idea… just not good to do with some people who might ruin everything.

I really loved this book and the story. It was really deep and it showed different ways to deal with grief but there were a few things I didn’t like as much. I really didn’t like that a lot of people blamed Carver for what happened to his friends. I understand why he felt guilty and I can see why a few people would want him to be guilty but in the end he wasn’t the one who made the decision that ended up with his friends lives.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. While there were a few things that might have got me mad it was still a great and emotional read. I 100% recommend this book, but beware because it’s not an easy read.

Rating:

4.5 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

One thought on “Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: If You Like This… Read This | Recommendation and Tag – Pirate Lady Pages

Leave a Reply

