A Million Worlds with You (Firebird #3) by Claudia Gray – Review

A Million Worlds with You (Firebird, #3)Publication Date:

November 1st, 2016

Publisher:

HarperTeen

Goodreads Synopsis:

A million universes. A million dangers. One destiny.

The fate of the multiverse rests in Marguerite Caine’s hands. Marguerite has been at the center of a cross-dimensional feud since she first traveled to another universe using her parents’ invention, the Firebird. Only now has she learned the true plans of the evil Triad Corporation—and that those plans could spell doom for dozens or hundreds of universes, each facing total annihilation.

Paul Markov has always been at Marguerite’s side, but Triad’s last attack has left him a changed man—angry and shadowed by tragedy. He struggles to overcome the damage done to him, but despite Marguerite’s efforts to help, Paul may never be the same again.

So it’s up to Marguerite alone to stop the destruction of the multiverse. Billions of lives are at stake. The risks have never been higher. And Triad has unleashed its ultimate weapon: another dimension’s Marguerite—wicked, psychologically twisted, and always one step ahead.

In the conclusion to Claudia Gray’s Firebird trilogy, fate and family will be questioned, loves will be won and lost, and the multiverse will be forever changed. It’s a battle of the Marguerites…and only one can win.

Review:

I read this book as a buddy read with Kat @Life and Other Disasters and Marie @Drizzle and Hurricane Books. While I’ve had a lot of buddy reads with Kat this was my first one with Marie and it was awesome because the three of us were really excited to read this book and see how everything would end. As always don’t forget to go check their blogs to see their thoughts in this book.

Oh boy, this book wasn’t what I was expecting. As you might know Firebird has been one of my favorite series for a couple of years and I’ve been highly anticipating the last book since the moment I finished Ten Thousand Skies Above You. However, this book was a little bit of a let down. There was a lot of things that annoyed me and sometimes it became too repetitive. I still really enjoyed it. I think the story itself it’s amazing. I loved the world Claudia Gray created and I want a Firebird for myself because traveling in other universes seems super funny (if we ignore everything that went down in these books XD). My main problem in this book (and in the series) were the characters. To be honest I didn’t like Marguerite that much and she annoyed me a lot. This had been coming for a long time. To be honest, I didn’t like her that much in the previous book but some reason she just got more annoying and I couldn’t connect with her. First of all we have the whole  Paul thingy. Here’s the thing, I can’t see the chemistry between them and I don’t understand why they are together. I even think Marguerite is in love with a version of Paul that is not her Paul and that’s just makes everything worse. I’m a sucker for romance but this is one of those romances that were not for me because honestly I didn’t like any of them. However, I do LOVE Theo a lot and that’s what makes this book a little bit of a let down for me because there’s was almost no Theo at all. Come on, I was not asking a lot to have Theo at least in half of the book right?? Well, I didn’t get it and I’m sad because he’s just a little cinnamon roll and I wanted to read more about him.

As I said, I kind of liked the story because it was really entertaining and I loved to visit all the different universes but I also think that at one point it was too repetitive and a little bit boring. Let’s just said that the first half of the book was a little bit dumb because there was no point to what Marguerite was doing. If she wanted to save the multiverse she should have done something else right from the beginning. I also think that in the end things were solved way too easily. There was not that rush you sometimes have when is the last book of the series and it seemed like something was missing, you know? I just wanted a little bit more and I think there should have been more consequences in the end.

Overall, this was an enjoyable book but in my opinion, for the end of a series, it was lacking something. I still recommend this series to everyone because it’s an awesome series and the whole different dimensions concept is really cool.

Rating:

3.5 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

6 thoughts on “A Million Worlds with You (Firebird #3) by Claudia Gray – Review

  1. Pingback: A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray (Book Review) – Life and Other Disasters

  2. Love your review 🙂 I think we agree on everything about this book ahah – it just makes me so sad we all didn’t connect and loved Marguerite as much as we could have. She was just so annoying at times :/ Everything kind of wrapped-up too easily, too, but it still was a fun ride 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: February 2017 Wrap-Up – Life and Other Disasters

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – February 2017 | The Girl Who Read Too Much

  5. Pingback: Review: A million worlds with you, Claudia Gray

Leave a Reply

