A Tangled Web by M.L. Sparrow – eARC Review

A Tangled WebPublication Date:

February 1st, 2017

Publisher:

M.L. Sparrow

Goodreads Synopsis:

Japan, 2011

Taiyo is a normal high-school girl living with her Grandmother in Sendai. She goes to school, partakes in club activities and hangs out with her two best friends, twin brothers Ryuu and Kairi. However, her perfect world is shattered when she begins dating Kairi but quickly discovers she’s already in love with Ryuu.

A tangled web of lies surrounds the pair, but everything is suddenly knocked into perspective on March 11th when they are caught up in a natural disaster that devastates the country and robs thousands of their homes, their possessions and their lives…

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the author in exchange for an honest review

When I was asked by M.L. Sparrow to review this novella I knew I had to do it mostly because I know nothing about japanese culture and also because I wanted to see how the tsunami would affect the characters. I know how much these natural disasters affect people’s lives but I really wanted to see if the author could capture that fell. She did and it was heartbreaking.

I don’t have a lot to say about A Tangled Web because it was a really short novella but I really liked it. I liked the characters a lot but I still had a lot of problems with Kairi because everything in her love life would have been easier if she just had said the truth since the beginning. However, I think there was a reason why Kairi was that way. As I said, this book deal with the tsunami that devastated Japan in 2011 and it shows the aftermath of such natural disaster and in my opinion Kairi’s immaturity before the tsunami was also a way to show how much you have to grow after living through such thing and after almost loosing someone she loves. There was such a drastic change in her but it’s complete understandable due to what happened to her. The only thing I didn’t “like” in this story is that it should have been longer because it would have worked so much better if it showed a little bit more of Kairi’s life with her friends and her relationship with them and also if it showed more the tsunami aftermath so we could really understand how everyone changed. However, that would probably make the book more heartbreaking and that’s not a good idea XD.

Overall, this was a really good but short read. I think I would have liked it more if it was a little bit longer but I still enjoyed it. It was also an eye-opening story because it shows you that there are more important things than some of the trivial things we sometimes care about. I think you should all definitely give it a try.

Rating:

3.5 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

One thought on “A Tangled Web by M.L. Sparrow – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – February 2017 | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

