Mia and the Bad Boy (Backstage Pass #2) by Lisa Burstein – eARC Review

Mia and the Bad Boy (Backstage Pass #2)Publication Date:

May 12th 2015

Publisher:

Entangled: Crush

Goodreads Synopsis:

This good girl’s about to meet her match…

Ryder Brooks is living the dream—he’s famous, loved by millions of girls, and miserable. All he really wants is to write his own music, not Seconds to Juliet’s sugary sweet pop. In order to do that, though, the “bad boy” of the band will have to play by the rules. And that includes behaving with his new—and super cute—über-good-girl tutor.

Mia Reyes is in fangirl heaven. Tutoring her favorite member of her favorite band? It’s a dream come true…until it turns into a complete nightmare. Ryder is nothing like she thought. He’s crude, arrogant, and pretty much a total jerk. And the worst part? She’s roped into pretending to be his girlfriend so that no one finds out he’s being tutored. Fake kisses, plenty of PDA, and even sharing his hotel room…

But sometimes even the baddest of bad boys needs a little redemption.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Once again this was a buddy read with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions so go check her blog in the next couple of days to read her thoughts about this book :).

A couple of months ago I read the first book in the Backstage Pass series, Aimee and the Heartthrob, and while I didn’t hate the book I also didn’t love it. As I said at the time I requested the complete Backstage Pass series to NetGalley because I love rock star books, I love cute young adult contemporaries and I love Entangled: Crush. The series has five different books that are written by different authors so I was expecting this book to be a little bit different from book 1 and to be a little bit better… well, surprise, surprise… it wasn’t better at all and to be honest I really didn’t like this book.

Once again, my main problem with this book were the characters (just like it happened in Aimee and the Heartthrob). I didn’t like Mia at all and while Ryder grew a little bit on me by the end I still wasn’t a fan. As soon as I started the book I already disliked Ryder. He didn’t leave a good first impression and I really didn’t like him personality-wise. I also think he was super judgemental at some points towards Mia and I’m still trying to understand what in the hell did he have against Keds… I got tired of his thoughts that he knew Mia was a good girl and an inexperienced girl just because she was wearing white Keds. His Keds assumption was even stupider than Miles assumption that a girl wearing a ponytail  meant she didn’t have time to shower in book 1.

But eventually he grew on me. I just would have liked to have known more about his past and what he had to deal with when he was younger. I think the author had the opportunity to make his story deeper but kind of ignored it. While Ryder grew on me Mia took a different turn. In the beginning of the book I kind of liked her (and I’m using this word very loosely) but she became more and more annoying and I really didn’t like some of her behaviour towards the end of the book. I also thought her background story a little bit weird. To be honest I doubt any strict parents (like her parents were) would let their 16 year-old daughter go on tour for a month with a boyband to tutor one of the guys. It just didn’t seem realistic for me even if she said they only allowed her because of the money she would get to go to college. I also didn’t think that what happened to her in the end was too believable. I just think things wouldn’t be that easier to anyone.

However, my problems didn’t stay here. I also didn’t like their relationship at all. They had no chemistry and everything happened too fast… like EVERYTHING. Another thing that annoys me is the relationship between the band. How is it possible that a band that has been together for 2 years doesn’t try to at least get to know each other and doesn’t try to become friends?? I hate that they barely talked to each other and I would have liked if they had a different relationship and tried to talk more and not only when one of them was having girl problems.

Plot-wise this book was really similar to the first one. I was expecting it to be full of clichés and super predictable, it’s expected in these type of books, but it was too much. Even the way it ended was similar to the first book. With every book different authors I was expecting to be at least a little bit different but it didn’t happen. I’m getting to a point where I think this series is not for me. I still read young adult even if that time is long gone for me and I still love it but this series it too young even if it tries to deal with topics that are more difficult to deal. Even thought the characters are 16 or 17 they still look way younger and that shows in their immaturity sometimes. I’ll try to read the other 3 books anyway but right now I don’t think this is the type of young adult I like.

Overall, this book was not my cup of tea. I had a lot of problems with it since the first page and there were a lot of things that made me roll my eyes. However, a lot of people loved this book so if it looks like something you would like you should give it a try. As I said before, my problems with these books are that the characters are too young and too immature but maybe if they are close to your age you’ll like it better? I’ll still try to read the next books and I really hope those become better.

Rating:

2 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

3 thoughts on “Mia and the Bad Boy (Backstage Pass #2) by Lisa Burstein – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: Mia and the Bad Boy (Lisa Burstein) – My Tiny Obsessions

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – January 2017 | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

