Book Traveling Thursdays #72 – New Worlds!

Today is thursday which means that is Book Traveling Thursdays, a weekly meme created by me and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. This weekly meme consists in picking a book related to the weekly theme that is announced in the group Goodreads page (if you want to join click here) at the beginning of each month. After that you can write a blog post where you explain why you choose that book and choose different covers from different countries. To make it a little bit easy you are going to choose different editions of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover.

This week’s theme is Here’s to different worlds… Choose a book set in a fictional world. For this week I decided to go with a book that is actually out of this world so technically a different world XD. Today I choose Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff because I loved this book. Anyway, here are some covers for this book:

Original and Favorite Cover:

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)

I’m the first one to say I don’t like orange that much but this cover is gorgeous. I love everything about it. The design, how it looks like it has hidden archives under it. It’s just a great cover. Also, have you seen the hardcover without the dust jacket?? AMAZING!! Extra points for making this book look so good.

Cover from my Country (Portugal):

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)

Look guys, this book is out in Portugal and the cover is similar to the original one! I like it. Once again, and with this cover being so similar to the original one, I love this cover. I don’t love it as much as the previous one because it looks like it’s missing somethings but it’s still a great cover.

Least Favorite Cover:

Illuminae (Illuminae Filerne #1)

This cover is from Denmark and it is my least favorite for an obvious reason… I don’t like that the text is in white and the text background in black. I really like that they kept the original background but the black parts with the white text doesn’t work for me. I also don’t like the font they used and it could have been better if they maintained the little archive bits.

So this is it, this week Book Traveling Thursdays. What did you think of this cover? Tell me in the comments 🙂

6 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays #72 – New Worlds!

  1. Ooooh, I love Illuminae. with the original hardcover, the dust jacket can be removed to show some redacted text behind it. So, the dust jacket shows through to the unredacted text. It’s really innovative. That said, it’s hard to imagine how a paperback might show that. I agree that the original hardcover is the best, but I also like the paperbacks. The black text is superior to the white, however. I agree with you on that.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – January 2017 | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

