More Than Distance (Chasing the Dream #5) by Elizabeth Briggs – eARC Review

More Than Distance (Chasing The Dream, #5)Publication Date:

January 10th, 2017

Publisher:

Elizabeth Briggs Books

Goodreads Synopsis:

She’s off-limits, but he’s the only one who can help her…

Carla Jackson has her life all mapped out, so when her plans fall apart she’s more lost than ever. A spot on the reality TV show Road Trip Race seems like the perfect escape, except she needs a partner. The only option is her brother’s best friend: the man she’s secretly loved forever and the last person she wants to be stuck in a car with.

Tech billionaire Ryan Evans has done everything he can to put his bitter past behind him. He’s avoided Carla ever since they shared a forbidden kiss six years ago, but when his best friend asks him to protect her on the show, he can’t refuse—even if the biggest threat to her heart might be himself.

As Carla and Ryan drive across the country while competing on the show, there’s no escaping the undeniable chemistry between them. But when they’re thrown off course, can they find their way home together?

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the author in exchange for an honest review

Once again this was a buddy read with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions so go check her blog in the next couple of days to read her thoughts about this book :).

Guys, after waiting for months for More than Distance I finally read it and I’m so happy about it. If you don’t know I already read and reviewed all the books in the Chasing the Dreams series and this is one of my favorite new adult series out there. You can see all my past reviews here:

I was really excited for this one mainly for two reason. First of all, this is the last book in the series so I knew it would probably be amazing. Secondly, Carla, the main character, is half-portuguese. I might be freaking out a little bit about this but you need to understand that you don’t see portuguese characters out there unless you read portuguese books (which I don’t but should do) so for me this is awesome and that makes everything even better. Let me tell you that starting the morning reading about caldo verde, bacalhau com natas, tarte de amêndoa and especially broa made me really hungry… and yeah, these are all portuguese dishes and I won’t even try to translate it.

I really loved this book and one of the things I loved the most is that not only this book was a “best-friend little sister” romance but it was also kind of second chance romance. I already love these two tropes by itself so if you combine both them it’s granted that I’ll love it. Carla and Ryan were such amazing characters and they were so cute together and had a great chemistry. I just loved them. At the beginning of the book they were both kind of lost but I really enjoyed to see them spending time together, getting to know each other again and helping each other finding themselves. Also, I really enjoyed the fact that they practically spent most of the book in a road trip because that gave them more chances to reconnect and talk about their lives. Another thing I loved was that both main characters were biracial. Carla was half white and half african-american and Ryan was half white and half chinese.

I also loved that all the characters from the previous books made an appearance and it was great to see how they all were. I also really liked Carla’s brother and Ryan’s best-friend, Daniel. I know this is the last book from the series but I would totally read a book about him. The guy deserves his own happy ending.

Once again, I really liked the writing in this book. This is not my first Elizabeth Briggs book, by far, and can really see how much her writing developed and how it got better after each book. I really enjoyed that this book had a dual POV and that Carla and Ryan had unique voices. Also, the book flew super easily and it was a really fast read.

Overall, this was a great romance and a great conclusion of a series. While I really loved this book I’m still a little bit sad that it’s the end of the series. I 100% recommend this book (and the series) to everyone who’s looking for a great romance.

Rating:

4.5 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

7 thoughts on “More Than Distance (Chasing the Dream #5) by Elizabeth Briggs – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: More Than Distance (Chasing the Dream #5) (Elizabeth Briggs) – My Tiny Obsessions

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – January 2017 | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

