The Romantics by Leah Konen – eARC Review

The RomanticsPublication Date:

November 1st 2016

Publisher:

Amulet Books

Goodreads Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ painful separation. Love intervenes with the intention of setting things right—but she doesn’t anticipate the intrusion of her dreaded nemesis: the Rebound. Love’s plans for Gael are sidetracked by Cara, Gael’s hot-sauce-wielding “dream girl.” The more Love meddles, the further Gael drifts from the one girl who can help him mend his heart. Soon Love starts breaking all her own rules—and in order to set Gael’s fate back on course, she has to make some tough decisions about what it means to truly care.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Once again this was a buddy read with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions so click HERE to read her thoughts about this book :).

I had this book for a really long time on my NetGalley shelf so December was the month I had to read it. I’ve been trying to get up to date with all my ARCs and this was already overdue. I don’t know why I took so long to read this one because it was super cute and fun.

I really enjoyed the story and most of the characters in this book. This book was a little bit different for a few reasons. First we have an interesting narrator (which I’ll talk about later) and a few different stories. While this book is mostly about Gael and his way to find love it also showed some other stories of another different characters and it also showed the different kinds of love that could exist. I really enjoyed to see this side of the story and, as a I said before, it was super cute. While I liked Gael as a character I still had a few problems with him. First of all, I didn’t like that he thought he needed a new girlfriend so soon after a break up. I really didn’t like that he thought lonely people wouldn’t be happy… it got to my nerves. I especially didn’t like towards his parents divorce. I would know how he felt… my parents got divorced when I was a teenager too. Did I act like him towards my parents?? NO!! You know why? Because whatever happened between them had nothing to do with me and they were still my parents. I really hated the way he treated his parents sometimes. But overall I liked him and I felt bad for him a lot too. I also like some of the other characters but there were a few that would get to my nerves… People, if you cheat don’t try to act like nothing happened in front of the person you cheated on. Also, don’t think the person will want to be your friend right away too because it doesn’t happen, so please, STOP BEING SHITTY FRIENDS!

One of my favorite things of this book was that Love was the narrator of this book. I just loved that we had an omniscient narrator and I loved Love’s sense of humour. Sometimes Love was hilarious and would make me laugh out loud. I think it also changed the story a lot because it gave it a different perspective. Can we have more books with Love as a narrator please??

Overall, this was a cute and enjoyable read. If you need something fast for a fun afternoon you might give this one a try.

Rating:

4 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

6 thoughts on “The Romantics by Leah Konen – eARC Review

  1. That sounds so intriguing – having Love as the narrator! What an amazing way to put a story across!! I read so many great book reviews on WordPress and you guys’ blogs – if only I had enough time to read all the books! I suck at putting time aside to read agh!x

    Like

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – January 2017 | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

