When Stars Collide (Light in the Dark #2) by Micalea Smeltzer – eARC Review

When Stars Collide (Light in the Dark, #2)Publication Date:

August 30th 2016

Publisher:

Micalea Smeltzer

Goodreads Synopsis:

We were like two stars orbiting each other—dancing around the possibility that one day we might collide. When we finally did, we opened up a black hole, obliterating everything around us. No one would be the same.
Least of all, us.

Waking up in Vegas married to the guy of your dreams sounds like a good thing, right? Not when you’re Thea Montgomery and said guy is your brother’s best friend.
Thea and Xander have always avoided the connection between them because her brother would never approve. Now, they’re married— the strongest bond you can have as a couple—and they’re not even a real couple…unless they want to be.
Thea wants an annulment immediately, but Xander’s waited too long to see her become his and he won’t let her go easily.
If she wants a divorce, fine, but he wants the summer to convince her that he’s the one. If at the end of the summer she still wants to end their marriage he’ll sign the papers, but until then…
All is not fair in love and war.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher in exchange for an honest review

Once again this was a buddy read with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions so click HERE to read her thoughts about this book :).

When I saw this book on NetGalley I  was really excited because I love forbidden romances especially when the girl falls in love with brother’s best-friend. Also, the drunk wedding thing looked funny. However this book ended up being completely different from what I was expecting and I ended up not enjoying it as much as I wanted.

One of my main problems with this book was that I felt a little bit lost. This book is the second book in a series but the blurb says it can be read as a standalone.. well, it doesn’t. I felt really lost while reading this book and I think I could have enjoyed it more if I knew what was happening. Sometimes there were situations that lacked something and I think that something might have been explained in the first book. This started right in the beginning in this book because this one started the morning after the drunk wedding and while I laughed a lot with that scene I still think it needed a little bit more context. So yeah, this book can’t be read as a standalone at all. It doesn’t work!

My other problem was Thea. I really didn’t like her. I know she’s only 19 years-old but sometimes it felt like she was younger and she was really immature. In my opinion she needed to grow a lot to end up married at 19. It was weird and some situations were really weird. I also didn’t like she kept things from the reader until about 75% of the book. I really don’t like when those kind of things in the books I read and my only thought at that point was “Where the hell did this come from?”… ohhh, and she’s also kind of dumb. There was one particular thing that happened that made me think if she ever heard of certain things that almost everyone knows about -_-‘. I did like Xander a lot more that Thea. While he’s only 3 years-older than her he looked way more mature than her. I really liked him and how he knew what he wanted. There were a few things he could have changed but it wasn’t that bad. Also, he was a cutie. I just can’t understand why he ended up falling in love with Thea. He deserved way better.

As you can see I had a few problems with this book but here’s my biggest problem… THERE WAS SO MUCH DRAMA! When I started I thought about two different situations that could cause a drama in this book. At around 50% both situations had already played out and were solved. That made me wonder what would come next and let me tell you that I would never predict the biggest dramas… you know why??? They were ridiculous!! One of the dramas came out of nowhere. Let’s just said Thea felt guilty about something that happened in her past but there’s no indication of this event of her life in the first 75% of the book. WTF?? If it was that important I think it should have been talked about before right?? But it didn’t. When it first happened I even thought there was a spelling error in the eARC I had. Then came the biggest drama that was even more ridiculous because it’s impossible that people would never notice certain things for years. It was plain stupid and I really didn’t like all the drama.

Not only I didn’t like a lot of the situations that happened in this book and some of the characters but I also didn’t really like the writing style. The pacing was weird and there were a few scenes that I couldn’t understand where they came from. It was a really weird book to read. It started with potential but ended up not being something I would like.

Overall, this book was not a hit for me. I had a lot of problems with it so I can’t really recommend it. However, there are a lot of people who read it and liked it so maybe you’ll like it too. But if you read this just remember to read book 1 so the thing that happened to me doesn’t happen to you.

Rating:

2 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

3 thoughts on “When Stars Collide (Light in the Dark #2) by Micalea Smeltzer – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – November | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

