Wallbanger (Cocktail #1) by Alice Clayton – Review

Wallbanger (Cocktail, #1)Publication Date:

February 14th 2013

Publisher:

Gallery Books

Goodreads Synopsis:

Caroline Reynolds has a fantastic new apartment in San Francisco, a Kitchen Aid mixer to die for, and no O (and we’re not talking Oprah here, folks). She has a flourishing design career, an office overlooking the bay, a killer zucchini bread recipe, and no O. She has Clive (the best cat ever), great friends, a great rack, and no O. Adding insult to O-less, she also has an oversexed neighbor with the loudest late-night wallbanging she’s ever heard. Every moan, spank, and—was that a meow?—punctuates the fact that not only is she losing sleep, she still has—yep, you guessed it—no O. Enter Simon Parker. When the wallbanging threatens to literally bounce her out of bed, Caroline, clad in sexual frustration and a pink baby-doll nightie, confronts her heard-but-never-seen neighbor. Their late-night hallway encounter has…well…mixed results. Because with walls this thin, the tension’s gonna be thick. A delicious mix of silly and steamy, this is an irresistible tale of exasperation at first sight.

Review:

I finally did it guys. After hearing Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions telling me for months I should read Wallbanger and after reading so many reviews telling how funny this book was I finally decided to read this book and let me tell you, I should have read this one sooner because I loved it.

I loved the characters in this book. This book is mostly told from Caroline’s POV and while I do love some dual POV myself I didn’t really miss Simon’s POV… well, I would have liked to know what was on his mind sometimes but I’m okay with only Caroline’s POV. I just think Caroline was such an amazing character. She’s an independent woman who knows what she wants from life which I loved because sometimes books are missing characters like this. I loved this girl and how funny she was. I also loved to see her with her two best-friends and her boss because those scenes were hilarious. And I can’t forget about her cat Clive… CLIVE IS THE MOST AWESOME CAT EVER!!

Simon was also amazing. Here’s one more name that was recently added to my book boyfriends list because this guy was just too perfect. He’s sexy, funny and smart and I love how passionate he his about his job. I loved to see that unlike other books Simon is not a womanizer, he just like to have fun. I also loved that once he was into Caroline he didn’t try to run that much from his feelings even when he knew nothing about relationships.

Simon and Caroline’s relationship was just cute and sexy as hell. I loved how they started as friends and only after they relationship evolved to something more. I think it’s great when characters start to know each other a little bit more before something serious starts happening between them and that’s what happened in Wallbanger. I just think their interactions before the relationship started were cute and funny and I loved it. These two were just perfect together.

This was my first Alice Clayton book but I have to tell you that I loved her writing. This book was funny right from the beginning and I’m pretty sure I was laughing from the first chapter and I loved this book for that. I haven’t read a funny book for a long time so this one was a breath of fresh air. I really need to read the sequel now because I need more Simon + Caroline + Clive in my life.

Overall, this was an amazing and super funny book. I loved how much I laughed with this one. I 100% recommend this book to everyone.

Rating:

5 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

7 thoughts on “Wallbanger (Cocktail #1) by Alice Clayton – Review

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – November | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

