T5W – Most Misleading Synopses

t5w new header

It’s that time of the week again when I bring you the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to know how T5W works you can go to the Goodreads group by clicking here. This week theme is Most Misleading Synopses: 

– Ever read a synopsis and think it sounds dumb, but then you read the book years later and it’s actually amazing? Ever read a synopsis and think it sounds amazing, but it actually turns out to be nothing like the synopsis? Ever have a synopsis spoil something that happens 75% of the way into the book so you just spend most of your time waiting for that one element you already know? This is the topic for you –

I had to look a lot to me read books shelf on Goodreads to finally find 5 books with some misleading synopses and it wasn’t easy at all. I found the five ans most of them were misleading in a not so good way… yep, I didn’t like most of these books at all.  But anyway, here’s my top for this week:

Lessons of the Heart by Jodie Larson

Lessons of the HeartThe first time we met, James Dumont knocked me off my feet.

He’s sexy and smart, the classic good guy…. Exactly what I want, and everything I’ve ever dreamed of. The most perfect guy at Somerset High School.

He even makes sixth-period Geography interesting.

Everyone says high school is tough. Fighting my attraction to James? That’s the hardest part, because this guy, my perfect match, the one who makes my heart overrule my head…

He’s my teacher.

What if the greatest lesson you could learn in school couldn’t be found in a book?

Let’s just be honest here… the part where it says that Britta fighting her attraction for James is the hardest part of high school is a lie. You know why?? Because she doesn’t try it at all. There no fighting against the attraction in that books. Those two are dumb and don’t even try.

Edge of Glory (Friendship, Texas #1) by Magan Vernon

Edge of Glory (Friendship, Texas, #1)“Welcome to Conti’s. I’m Lia and I’ll nguhhhhhhhhhhhhh”.

I froze. Directly facing me was Olympic swimmer, Jay Morningstar… and I just made an idiot of myself.

The rest of the table looked up to see me standing there with my mouth practically gaping. His coach, who I recognized from TV interviews, and even two other swimmers from the Olympic team… they didn’t say anything, they didn’t even blink.

“Uh… I mean…”

I couldn’t even put together my words and Jay Morningstar was just staring at me with that Wheaties box smile and those icy blue eyes.

What was I supposed to say? Sorry I just made a weird noise, it’s just that I have a poster of you on my wall where you are wearing nothing more than your gold medals, a smile, and a pair of man panties?

When I read this I thought this book would be hilarious. Just look at that blurb… it’s funny. The book was the complete opposite. It wasn’t funny and I hated it.

The Movie Version by Emma Wunsch

The Movie VersionA whip-smart, heart-wrenching debut YA novel about first love, first loss, and filmmaking that will delight fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven

In the movie version of Amelia’s life, the roles have always been clear. Her older brother, Toby: definitely the Star. As popular with the stoners as he is with the cheerleaders, Toby is someone you’d pay ten bucks to watch sweep Battle of the Bands and build a “beach party” in the bathroom. As for Amelia? She’s Toby Anderson’s Younger Sister. She’s perfectly happy to watch Toby’s hijinks from the sidelines, when she’s not engrossed in one of her elaborately themed Netflix movie marathons.

But recently Toby’s been acting in a very non-movie-version way. He’s stopped hanging out with his horde of friends and started obsessively journaling and disappearing for days at a time. Amelia doesn’t know what’s happened to her awesome older brother, or who this strange actor is that’s taken his place. And there’s someone else pulling at her attention: a smart, cute new boyfriend who wants to know the real Amelia—not Toby’s Sidekick. Amelia feels adrift without her star, but to best help Toby—and herself—it might be time to cast a new role: Amelia Anderson, leading lady.

First of all, where from this book do we learn this is about mental illness?? We don’t. Why? I think that would be an important thing to know. Also, ” whip-smart, heart-wrenching debut YA novel about first love, first loss, and filmmaking”. Nope… I didn’t get this at all.

The Possibility of Somewhere by Julia Day

The Possibility of SomewhereTogether is somewhere they long to be.

Ash Gupta has a life full of possibility. His senior year is going exactly as he’s always wanted– he’s admired by his peers, enjoying his classes and getting the kind of grades that his wealthy, immigrant parents expect. There’s only one obstacle in Ash’s path: Eden Moore—the senior most likely to become class valedictorian. How could this unpopular, sharp-tongued girl from the wrong side of the tracks stand in his way?

All Eden’s ever wanted was a way out. Her perfect GPA should be enough to guarantee her a free ride to college — and an exit from her trailer-park existence for good. The last thing she needs is a bitter rivalry with Ash, who wants a prized scholarship for his own selfish reasons. Or so she thinks. . . When Eden ends up working with Ash on a class project, she discovers that the two have more in common than either of them could have imagined. They’re both in pursuit of a dream — one that feels within reach thanks to their new connection. But what does the future hold for two passionate souls from totally different worlds?

First of all, when I read this I thought this book would be either only told from Ash’s POV or it have a dual POV… it didn’t. The book was completely told from Eden’s POV so how can I know anything about Ash?? Also, where do have Eden and Ash have a lot in common??? They were the complete opposite. I still can’t understand why they date at all.

Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

Vanishing GirlsNew York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver delivers a gripping story about two sisters inexorably altered by a terrible accident.

Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it’s too late.

In this edgy and compelling novel, Lauren Oliver creates a world of intrigue, loss, and suspicion as two sisters search to find themselves, and each other.

This is actually the only book from all of these that I did enjoy. This blurb isn’t that misleading but I wasn’t expecting to read the story I read. That book really surprised me in a lot of ways and I wasn’t expecting a lot of things to happen.

These are some of my Most Misleading Synopses. What about you? Which ships did you include in your tops this week?

11 thoughts on “T5W – Most Misleading Synopses

  1. I hate it when the synopsis tells you about a major plot twist or a potential love interest. It is so annoying! I barely read synopsis’ anymore if I already bought the book, just to not have that problem. I have had so often that something is revealed that happens like half-way through the book.

    Like

  2. I hate misleading synopses! I can’t really think of any off the top of my head, though. But the worst is when they tell you something that happens in the book and make it sound like it’s no big deal but when you read the book, you can tell it was meant to be a big surprise/twist. I HATE that haha

    Like

  3. This is a hard T5W; I’m really impressed with this list, however! I don’t often read synopses, honestly. Far too often they have spoiled something for me and I’ve dislike reading the book. Perhaps I should read them after I finish the book to see if they are misleading?

    Like

  4. The only one I’ve read on this list is The Movie Version and I completely agree with you. That synopsis was so misleading. It gave the idea that it would be a sort of girl empowerment, coming of age type novel but nope. And the fact that it included nothing about mental illness bothered me. Brushed off in the synopsis and used as a plot device in the book. It was so disappointing. 😖

    Like

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – November | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

