Just One Moment (Black Alcove #4) by Jami Wagner – eARC Review

Just One Moment (Black Alcove, #4)Publication Date:

October 4th, 2016

Publisher:

Mark My Words Book Publicity

Goodreads Synopsis:

Skylar Atwood wants to find herself. After years of everyone making choices for her, she’s finally on her own, determined to make any and every decision she can. But being homeless and then accused of breaking and entering isn’t how her new life was supposed to go.

It’s been a year, and Luke Warren isn’t handling his father’s death very well. As the only man of the house now, Luke takes on the role as a provider for his mother and sisters. Working extra hours to help his mom pay the bills and sacrificing all his free time is beginning to take its toll on him. Until he knows they’ll be okay, he won’t quit. Not even vandalism to his family’s bookstore will stop him.

Despite the fact Luke blames Skylar for everything going wrong in his life and Skylar thinks Luke’s the most uptight jerk she’s ever met, the two can’t stop the attraction that continues to draw them together. Giving in to their feelings is the easy part, but one moment can ruin everything. Luke can’t change his past, but his future won’t be the same if Skylar isn’t in it.

Truths are tested and choices are challenged. Just One Moment will capture your heart.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher in exchange for an honest review

Once again this was a buddy read with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions so HERE to read her thoughts about this book :).

When I requested this book I didn’t knew what I should expect from it. I haven’t read anything from the author and this is already the fourth book in a series but I really wanted to read it because it looked like a great “enemies-turned-lovers” romance. I did enjoy this book but I still had a few problems with it.

Let’s start with the characters. I really liked Skylar. I loved to see her grow during the book and I loved how she wondered about doing things that to us are normal. My problem with her is that I don’t see why she ran from her family and became homeless. I would understand if she tried to leave for a few weeks or even months but she was practically homeless while she had a family. It wasn’t the best family in the world but she could have done things a little bit differently. I don’t even know what to say about Luke. I’ll be honest, I didn’t like him for half of the book and that’s not normal for me. Normally I have problems with the girls and not the guys. While I understand his behavior towards some things that were happening I still can’t understand why he couldn’t see what everyone saw and why he held a grudge for so long without any real reason. I just got really frustrated about it. He got better once he forgot about what had happened before and realized he was wrong. That’s when I started enjoying the book more. I did love them together even if I thought it was a little bit weird in the end. I really loved to see how they helped each other and how much they cared for each other. They were actually a great couple and I’m happy about that because at one point I thought I would hate them together. Good thing I didn’t.

I really like the story too. For the most part it was actually really good and I really enjoyed that it wasn’t predictable and that it had some action by the end. I wasn’t expecting it. One of my main problems with this book was the writing. I just thought the writing was kind of weird and the book was too slow to me. There was something missing in there and I can’t really figure out what.

Overall, this was an enjoyable read. I had a few problems with the characters and the writing but in the end it was an enjoyable read. If you think you would like this one you should give it a try because there’s a lot of people who love this one and you might love it too.

Rating:

3 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

One thought on “Just One Moment (Black Alcove #4) by Jami Wagner – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – October | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

