T5W – Gateway Books to New Adult

t5w new header

It’s that time of the week again when I bring you the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to know how T5W works you can go to the Goodreads group by clicking here. This week theme is Gateway Books to Your Favorite GenreSo this week I need to choose some books I think are good to introduce people to one of my favorite genres. Obviously I had to go with gateway books to New Adult because I absolutely adore New Adult.  So here’s my top for this week:

t5w-gateway-books

November 9 by Colleen Hoover

You weren’t expecting me to do a top about new adult and not include Colleen Hoover right?? In all of her books I had to choose November 9 because it’s a different book. In this book the two main characters decide to meet November 9 for the next 5 years which means that we only see them on those days. I think it’s a great introduction because it doesn’t have a lot of mature content (which I know is a problem to a lot of people who don’t read NA) and because the characters grow up with every year and we see how different they are with each November 9.

The Deal (Off-Campus #1) by Elle Kennedy

Let’s be honest… you had to be expecting this when I’m talking about gateway books for NA right?? I know I only read this book (and the next two sequels) in the past few weeks but I already love it and now I understand why everyone loves these books. So if you need an introduction to NA, and don’t have any problems with a lot of mature content, you should read this series for sure.

The Year We Fell Down (The Ivy Years #1) by Sarina Bowen

This wasn’t my favorite Sarina Bowen book but I think it would be great for someone who is starting to read more NA. Why?? First of all, it’s not all about romance. Yes, it has romance but Corey and Hartley start out as friends and stay as friends for a long time. Secondly, this book has a disable character and I loved how she was portrayed. I loved to see Corey’s struggles and her exploration of her body because nowadays this is something that isn’t talked about and it might be important for people who have the same problem as her.

The Hard Count by Ginger Scott

Technically this one is not NA. The Hard Countis classified as mature YA but I think it would be a great book to start if you want to read more NA. First of all, the characters are amazing. I love Nico with all my heart. Secondly, it’s not only about the romance but also about family and I love the family aspect in the book. And because it’s not NA it doesn’t have any mature content… well, there’s one small situation but it’s not that descriptive.

Waking Olivia by Elizabeth O’Roark

I think this book would be an amazing introductory book to NA because it shows that NA is not all about romance. I know a lot of people think NA is only about romance and sex but it’s not true and this book shows that. It also doesn’t hurt that this book has a forbidden romance that is well done XD.

These are some of my Gateway Books to New Adult. What about you? Which books did you include in your tops this week?

28 thoughts on “T5W – Gateway Books to New Adult

  1. Yes! You can’t have a new adult post without some Colleen Hoover on their. I owe you my eternal gratitude for kicking me into gear to read November 9. I loved it, I need to read The Year we Fell Down and The Hard Count from this list but I loved the others too so their definitely on my TBR to try!.
    Great choices! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you posted Waking Olivia. I’ve been trying to get my head around a post I’m writing to help people understand what New Adult is, and the biggest feedback I get is, “But it’s just soft romance. Romance college kids don’t think is creepy.” NO. WRONG. Yes, there is a ton of romance out there– but that’s what the audience wants. They are hyped up on hormones.
    Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely agree. New adult is way more than only romance. There some really amazing new adult books that deal with a lot more than romance. Waking Olivia is one of that books and that’s one of the reasons why I love it so much

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

