Frosh: First Blush (Frosh #1) by Mónica B. Wagner – Review

Frosh: First Blush (Frosh, #1)Publication Date:

October 20th, 2015

Publisher:

The Studio/ Paper Lantern Lit

Goodreads Synopsis:

During welcome week at Hillson University, the FROSH will hit the fan.

Type-A aspiring journalist Ellie plans to take freshman year by storm. But hell-bent on breaking a huge on-campus scandal, she risks becoming one herself—and getting the mysterious, heart-melting QB in serious trouble.

Grant, star quarterback and charismatic chick-magnet, is hiding a life-altering secret. The last thing he needs is an overeager (absolutely adorable) journalist asking questions. He’s got a reputation to protect.

High-society legacy student Devon is ready to catch the football hottie of her dreams. If the tabloids feature her with the “it” boy on her arm, her tainted past will be buried—or so she thinks.

Charlie, pre-med, is done being the sweet and funny geek that girls like Devon ignore. But if he tries to impress her with a new edgy, spontaneous attitude, will his heart end up in the emergency room?

FROSH intertwines the stories of Ellie, Grant, Devon, and Charlie in Mónica B. Wagner’s sexy NA debut series, about falling in love and falling apart.

Review:

I have been seeing this book around for a long time so when I saw it was free on Kindle I knew i had to get it (and also get the ARC for book 2 on NetGalley but I’ll talk about it in another day XD). This book looked quite interesting especially because it had 4 different protagonists.

I have to tell that from the four main characters my favorites had to be Grant and Charlie. I really liked them. I really loved Grant. He was such a swoon-worthy character and I loved how much he cared about Ellie (even if she didn’t deserve it most of the time). Charlie was so adorable. I also really liked him and all his shirts. The girls were a different story. I had a hard time in liking Devon. I have to admit she grew on me but I really didn’t like her in the beginning. I did love her relationship with Charlie and how they couldn’t stop thinking about each other. I did like Ellie in the beginning and I loved to see her interactions with Grant in the night they met but she became so frustrating… at one point I just wanted to slap her in the face so she would open her eyes. I also can’t believe she trusted Tanner… I knew I that guy was not trust-worthy.

I did enjoy the story in this book and it had some cute moments but the relationships in this book were a little bit instalove… well, there was a lot of instalove happening between Ellie and Grant. Sometimes I forget that the book is only set on the first week of college. There was also a lot of miscommunication and drama that could have been avoided if a certain character (*cough* Ellie * cough*) would just let Grant explain what was happening. That would make everything so much easier. And don’t even make me talk about the cliffhanger. Good thing I already had book 2 and started reading it right away.

I also really liked the writing in this book and I loved that it had four different POVs especially because all the characters had different voices.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I might had a few problems with some characters and all the miscommunication but this was a fun read so I would recommend this book if you don’t mind all the drama.

Rating:

3.5 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

8 thoughts on “Frosh: First Blush (Frosh #1) by Mónica B. Wagner – Review

  1. I love the line ‘I just wanted to slap her in the face’ – I get the same feelings in books. I like how this intertwines 4 characters together however I’m not too keen on insta- love stories. Especially as this seems to all happen within the first week?
    Great Review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have a lot of problems with instalove. It’s super unrealistic and it makes me to rate a book less even if I love the story. The 4 POVs were interesting to read. I’m used to read only 2 different POVs so I had to adjust a little bit to this one. But it’s not that difficult to read 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Frosh: Second Chances (Frosh #2) by Mónica B. Wagner – eARC Review | The Girl Who Read Too Much

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – September | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

