Book Traveling Thursdays #58 – New Classic!

Today is thursday which means that is Book Traveling Thursdays, a weekly meme created by me and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. This weekly meme consists in picking a book related to the weekly theme that is announced in the group Goodreads page (if you want to join click here) at the beginning of each month. After that you can write a blog post where you explain why you choose that book and choose different covers from different countries. To make it a little bit easy you are going to choose different editions of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover.

This weeks theme is Choose a book that you think it should be a classic in a few years. I had a hard time with this week theme because I already used most of the books I think should be classics in a few years. Because of that I ended up choosing The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman because I think Neil Gaiman’s books had the potential to become new classics and because I really liked this one. So let’s see a few covers:

Original Cover:

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

I really like this cover. I like the colors and the composition. It’s also quite mysterious and I think it’s perfect for this book.

Cover from my Country (Portugal):

O Oceano no Fim do Caminho

The portuguese cover is quite similar to the original one. I like that is so similar but I think I would like it more if it had the original color. It’s still a pretty good cover.

Favorite Covers:

favorite-covers

US   –    UK    –    UK Re-edition

I think my favorite of these three has to be the UK cover. It’s also the one that I own and I really like the picture used and how the title is positioned. I also really like the new edition. It’s a gorgeous cover and I love that it’s different but with similar colors.

Least Favorite Covers:

least-favorites

Poland    –    Romania    –    Italy    –    Russia

I don’t like any of these covers. They all look too scary and some of them look too childish. I think that the designers should have gone with something else for this book.

So this is it, this week Book Traveling Thursdays. What did you think of these covers? Tell me in the comments 🙂

12 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays #58 – New Classic!

  1. Ugh– that Italian cover… what? So weird.
    This is the book that got my hooked into Neil Gaiman’s writing. I think my favorite cover would be the UK Re-edition, actually. Lovely and slightly creepy– just like Neil!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

