Book Traveling Thursdays #56 – Books and Food!

Today is thursday which means that is Book Traveling Thursdays, a weekly meme created by me and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. This weekly meme consists in picking a book related to the weekly theme that is announced in the group Goodreads page (if you want to join click here) at the beginning of each month. After that you can write a blog post where you explain why you choose that book and choose different covers from different countries. To make it a little bit easy you are going to choose different editions of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover.

This weeks theme is Almost everyone loves to snack while reading. Choose a book that Focuses on Food, Eating, or Cooking. As soon as someone suggested this theme I thought about Chocolat but after thinking better about it I decided to choose one of Sarah Addison Allen’s books. Why? Not only those books are sweet or magical but there’s always something about food. I’m not even joking. There’s one book where all the chapters are named after different types of candies and I love it. However I won’t be using that book because I already used it before (you can see it HERE). So today’s book will be The Girl Who Chased the Moon. In this book one of the charcaters has a bakery and is constanly baking cakes so obviously I had to choose this book. And have I told you these books are kind of magical?? I love it. So let’s see a few covers:

Original Covers:

original

I really like these covers, especially the first one. I just think these covers are gorgeous and I love the elements used on it. I like the first one better because I love the girl on that cover and I love everything about it. It looks magical and it represents this book really well.

Cover from my Country (Portugal):

O Feitiço da Lua

If there’s one thing you need to know is that Sarah Addison Allen’s books have gorgeous covers in Portugal. I really like them and that’s why I read one of her books in the first place. I saw it once at a bookstore, loved the cover, bought it and read it. This is one is not my favorite cover out of her books publishe din Portugal but I still like it a lot. Once again, it looks magical and I like that. I also like everything else. And the best thing in this cover, it matches all of my other Sarah Addison Allen’s books (well, all but one because they decided to change the design in the last book).

Favorite Covers:

favorites

US   –    UK    –    Portugal

As I said before, I really like the original cover and the one from Portugal. I also rteally like the cover from the UK. It’s simple and it has images that represent things in the story itself. I think it’s a really good cover and I love it.

Least Favorite Covers:

least-favorites

Germany    –    Poland    –    Czech Republic   –    Russia

The only thing I have to say to all of these covers is NO. I don’t like these at all. The covers from Germany and Russia make me think of romances and while this book has romance it’s still not the most important thing in it. The cover from Poland makes me think of a cookbook. While the baking part is still important in this book I don’t think the cover had to look like a cookbook. I also don’t like that the title is only about Julie because she’s not the only important character in the book and she’s not even the girl who chased the moon. The cover from Czech Republic is a little bit weird. I don’t like it at all.

So this is it, this week Book Traveling Thursdays. What did you think of these covers? Tell me in the comments 🙂

5 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays #56 – Books and Food!

Leave a Reply

