Blind Spot by Katana Collins – eARC Review

Blind SpotPublication Date:

August 8th, 2016

Publisher:

Entangled Publishing, LLC

Goodreads Synopsis:

I’m used to going for the easy things in life.
The easy A in school.
The easy lay in bed. The easy life my trust fund affords me.
Until I met Shelby.
Never in my life have I found retro T-shirts and lip balm so damn sexy.
She’s exactly what I never knew I wanted.
And she’s anything but easy.
But suddenly, easy is overrated.

Only one damn problem… For Shelby, hating me is easy.

For the first time in my life, I have to work for something. And though
she may not be easy…she’ll be worth it.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Once again this was a buddy read with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions so go check her blog in the next few days to read her thoughts about this book :).

I’ve been so unlucky with most of the books I’ve been requesting on NetGalley, as you might have been seeing on my reviews, that I went to this one with low expectations. Good thing I actually really liked this one and it was a pleasant surprise.

I have to admit that at the beginning I didn’t like the main character, Shelby, that much. For some reason I was having some problems with her but that changed at around 30% into the book. In the end I really liked her. Shelby is your typical character that went through a lot of stuff in her past. Having been through a lot she doesn’t trust that many people and she prefers to keep her group of friends small. While we don’t learn right away what happened to Shelby we still have a few glimpses that make us think what the hell happened to her and how bad was it. Then we have Tate. By the blurb you might think Tate is a bad boy. Well, he isn’t. Tate a sweetheart who really cares about the people he loves. He might come from a rich and powerful family but that doesn’t mean he never had his heart-broken. I loved Tate. He’s a great guy and he helped Shelby in a lot of things she had going one. Now, here’s the funny thing about him. Tate is supposed to have this amazing cobalt eyes, Shelby talks about it a lot of times. However, I kept seeing Tate as Nick Bateman. Why?? I have a few hypothesis. First option, he’s connected to the Ugly Love movie. If you don’t know the female main character name in Ugly Love is Tate. Second option: I’ve been spending way too much time on his Instagram/Snapchat. Anyway, there is no problem in imagining every single fictional character as Nick Bateman (I think I’m learning this from Deanna @ A Novel Glimpse. She already talked about how she imagines every male character as him and I’m starting to follow her steps XD).

Not only the characters were great but they also had an amazing chemistry. Their scenes together went from cute to hot to everything. I loved it. And don’t even make me talk about how cute the end was. I finished this book grinning like a fool.

One thing I loved in this book was that Harrison, Shelby’s best friend and practically brother, never looked at her as a possible love interest. I hate when sometimes in other books the male best friends ends up realizing that he has been in love for the girl just because she got a new boyfriend. I hate that and it looks like guys and girls can’t be friends without something happening between them when they can. I know for a matter of fact that you can have guy friends without having some kind of relationship with them so kudos to the author for not making Harrison a douchebag who only wants his best friend because she got a new boyfriend. Now can I have a book about Harrison or Reagan please?? Maybe one about the two of them. Something… I just want more books :P.

Not only I liked the story but I also liked the writing style a lot. The book flow super well and, once again, I loved that it had dual POV and that both voices were different. I have to tell you that sometimes the book was a little bit predictable but that didn’t changed how much I liked the story at all. Also, this book has some topics that might be a trigger for some people so if you don’t feel comfortable with reading about certain topics you should stay away from this one.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and it was a really good surprise for me. I really loved the romance between Shelby and Tate and I loved the story itself. If you love new adult romances you should give this one a try.

Rating:

4 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

11 thoughts on “Blind Spot by Katana Collins – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: Blind Spot (Katana Collins) – My Tiny Obsessions

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – August | The Girl Who Read Too Much

  3. Pingback: Summer Reads Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

