Heat it Up (Off the Ice – Book One) by Stina Lindenblatt – eARC Review

29766452Publication Date:

June 14th, 2016

Publisher:

Diversion Books

Goodreads Synopsis:

Some games are hotter off the ice…

Sofia Phillips feels cursed. Her father cheated on her mother, her boyfriend cheated on her—she’s done with dating. A summer work-exchange program in Finland is the perfect escape. But instead of gaining experience as an athletic trainer, she’s cleaning toilets. Awesome. The trip is a disaster, and even better, she meets Kyle Bennett. In the sauna. Naked.

Sexy hockey player Kyle was the star right wing for an NHL team. But after an accident killed his wife and left him injured, Kyle has appreciated the “therapeutic” benefits of booze and puck bunnies. Now in Finland for the summer, he’s coaching in an elite hockey-training camp for teens. When Sofia’s grandmother decides to set her up with a nice Finnish man, Sofia recruits Kyle as her make-believe boyfriend. Neither expects their first kiss to sizzle. And neither expects, while stranded on an island during a storm, to have a scorching night of passion.

But as their charade, and then their attraction, develops into something deeper, the past comes back, threatening to destroy them. They must decide if their feelings for each other are strong enough to survive—or it will be game over.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Once again this was a buddy read with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions so click HERE to read her review :).

As you might have seen in the past few weeks I’ve been reading a few hockey romances and they have all been pretty different from each other. This is not an exception.

I really enjoyed the story in this one and the main characters. I liked Sofia a lot. She was a girl who had given up on love because of something that happened to her in the past and didn’t trust that easily and I did understand where she came off and why she had a big lack of confidence. However, sometimes I would get a little bit frustrated with her and how naïve she could be. I loved Kyle. Yes, he had a lot of flaws (just like Sofia had it too) but once again it was possible to see why he was like he was and why he did the things he did before meeting Sofia. I did love how he tried to change after meeting her and realizing that he add feelings for her. I also loved almost all the side characters but I just couldn’t deal with Joni and most of the times he appeared I got really mad. This book has some sort of love triangle. It really isn’t a love triangle because Joni never stood a chance against Kyle. However I couldn’t deal with all the things he did when he knew that Sofia was dating Kyle and how she never realized what he was doing. It was really frustrating to see her saying “he just wants to be friends” when clearly that was not what he wanted. I also didn’t like how this wasn’t solved at all. As I said before, I really enjoyed the book but the end was too abrupt for me. I think that there were a few things that could have been talked about and that didn’t happened. Basically I would love an epilogue because I’m a sucker for epilogues XD.

I also enjoyed the author’s writing style and the way the dual POV was done mostly because it was possible to differentiate Sofia and Kyle’s voices. I also liked that she included a twist by the end of the book (even if I predicted that twist pretty early on).

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. This was my first Stina Lindenblatt book and I hope that it isn’t the last one. If you’re into NA you should give this one a try.

Rating:

3.5 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

7 thoughts on “Heat it Up (Off the Ice – Book One) by Stina Lindenblatt – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – June | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

