Book Recommendations: Debut Novels

book recommendations debut novels

Hi guys! It’s time for a few more book recommendations. Today I decided I wanted to share with you some of my favorite Debut Novels. Debut novels are something really important because the authors need to start from somewhere so why not talk about some of my favorites right?  So let’s see which books made to this list 🙂 .

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1)Goodreads Blurb:

Can Anna find love in the City of Light?

Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year.

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for?

Once again I need to recommend this book. This book and the whole series is just perfect and Anna and the French Kiss is just a perfect debut novel. Stephanie Perkins did a great job with this one. I know a lot of people already read this book but if you didn’t you should.


Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens AgendaGoodreads Blurb:

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

I’m pretty sure I also talk about this one a lot but can we talk about how amazing this book is?? This book is just perfect and everyone should read it. Becky Albertalli did amazing with this book and I can’t wait for her next work.


Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, EverythingGoodreads Blurb:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

This book… this book was so good. I loved everything about it. It was cute and adorable and pretty different from anything I’ve read before. This book made me want to read everything that Nicola Yoon writes and I can’t wait for her next book. Click here to read my review.


The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

The Girl from Everywhere (The Girl From Everywhere, #1)Goodreads Blurb:

Nix has spent her entire life aboard her father’s ship, sailing across the centuries, across the world, across myth and imagination.

As long as her father has a map for it, he can sail to any time, any place, real or imagined: nineteenth-century China, the land from One Thousand and One Nights, a mythic version of Africa. Along the way they have found crewmates and friends, and even a disarming thief who could come to mean much more to Nix.

But the end to it all looms closer every day.

Her father is obsessed with obtaining the one map, 1868 Honolulu, that could take him back to his lost love, Nix’s mother. Even though getting it—and going there—could erase Nix’s very existence.

For the first time, Nix is entering unknown waters.

She could find herself, find her family, find her own fantastical ability, her own epic love.

Or she could disappear.

This book is so amazing. To be honest it took me a long time to finish this book but not because I wasn’t liking it. I was just not in the right mood for it. However, when it got to a certain point I couldn’t stop reading. This book is great. It has an amazing and different plot, amazing and diverse characters. It has everything and I can’t even believe that this was Heidi Heilig debut novel. I can’t wait to read the remaining of this series. You can read my review here.


Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods

Summer of SupernovasGoodreads Blurb:

Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.

When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love.

But when Wil falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the astrology chart, she must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her dead mother’s legacy and the very system she’s faithfully followed through a lifetime of unfailing belief.

From all the books I’m talking about today this is one of my most recent reads. I really enjoyed this book and while it had some sort of love triangle it was still a really good read. It also explores themes I never read about before like astrology and that part of this book was pretty cool. Once again, this is another amazing debut novel and I can’t wait to read more of Darcy Woods’s work. You can read my review here.


So these are a few more books that I want to recommend. Have you read any of these books or would you read any? Which debut novels would you recommend? If you have any recommendations tell me in the comments 🙂 .

Advertisements

24 thoughts on “Book Recommendations: Debut Novels

  1. I love Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda and The Girl from Everywhere and I really want to read Everything Everything, but I really didn’t like what I read of Anna and the French Kiss (80 pages).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Debut novels are really interesting books to read. When done right, a debut can catapult a new author into prominence. It’s really exciting and encouraging to see amazing debut because you know the authors will have time to learn and grow in their craft.

    These are great recommendations! I’ve heard great things about Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, The Girl From Everywhere and Everything Everything. I hope to read them all sometime this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Everything,Everything! It had me smiling through the whole thing. Madeline and Ollie were so adorable! Simon was another amazing book. Simon and Blue’s relationship had me smiling from beginning to end. The end was the absolutely best!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These are some great recommendations. I really loved Simon Vs., Anna and the French Kiss and The Girl From Everywhere (the last is one of my best reads from 2016 so far!) and I have Everything Everything on my to-read list so I’m hoping to start it soon. I’ve seen some good reviews for it so far! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – May | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s