Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods – eARC Review

Summer of SupernovasPublication Date:

May 10th, 2016

Publisher:

Crown Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Synopsis:

Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.

When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love.

But when Wil falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the astrology chart, she must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her dead mother’s legacy and the very system she’s faithfully followed through a lifetime of unfailing belief.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

If you’ve been following this blog for quite some time you might know how much I love contemporary. I just love it and when I saw this book on NetGalley I knew I had to read it because it sounded so good and different.

I never read a book where astrology and the stars where so important and I loved that side of the story. I don’t want to say a lot about this book because I think it’s good to go read it without knowing a lot but I loved how important this was for Wil even if sometimes I thought it was too much. I loved the characters in this book. Wil, the main character, was really quirky and funny but she was also a little bit immature which is pretty normal for a 17 year-old. I really liked her character but sometimes I would get a little bit frustrated with some of her decisions mostly because while I understand why she was doing it I still think that in some cases she should have acted in a different way. But I really enjoyed her development and seeing her coming to the terms that not everything she learned that some promises are made to be broken and that what matters is her happiness. I loved, loved Grant. That guy is so swoon-worthy and I loved how much he cared about Wil and how he would be there when she needed. I think the characters were one of the best parts of this book because not only I loved Wil and Grant but I also loved Wil’s grandmother, her best-friend Irina and Grant’s friend Manny. One character I didn’t like a lot was Seth. I can see that he was trying to make Wil happy and he was doing a lot of things for that to happen but for me he was a little bit too selfish and I had a few problems with him.

Another thing I really loved was the writing style and how it flew so easily. My only problem with this book is one that I know a lot of people won’t like… there was a love triangle. I really don’t like love triangles but sometimes I can deal with them. I think I could have liked this if Wil didn’t try to force herself to love someone who she clearly didn’t love just because she thought it was the right thing to do. As I said before, I understand why she did some of the things she did but there was a time she should have just stop pretend that she didn’t love the “wrong” person (that wasn’t wrong at all).

Overall, this book was super cute and adorable. I think everyone should read this book. This was a great debut novel by Darcy Woods and I can’t wait to see which stories she plans to write next.

Rating:

4 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: Book Recommendations: Debut Novels | The Girl Who Read Too Much

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – May | The Girl Who Read Too Much

  3. Pingback: Spring Reads Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s