Playing Defense (Corrigan Falls Raiders #2) by Cate Cameron – eARC Review

25447694Publication Date:

March 14th, 2016

Publisher:

Entangled: Crush

Goodreads Synopsis:

Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book contains adult language, swoon-worthy kisses, and sexy hockey players. It may cause you to watch a hockey game…or ten.

Sixteen-year-old Claudia Waring has never kissed a boy. Never been popular. Never been to a hockey game. All that’s about to change. Assigned to tutor Chris Winslow, a prank-loving, gorgeous hockey player, Claudia’s perfectly planned life immediately veers off course. And she kind of likes it. But as fun as Chris is, she knows she’ll never fit in his world.

After his latest prank lands him in hot water, Chris has to get serious about school or lose hockey. Not an easy thing for someone as carefree as the defenseman. The biggest problem, though, is how much he wants to help his cute, buttoned-up tutor loosen up a little. But while confidence has never been a problem for him, around Claudia, Chris is all nerves. Why would a girl as smart as her ever fall for a jock like him?

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Let me just start by telling you that I read this book as a buddy read with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions so go check her blog to read her review too :). We’ve been doing a lot of buddy reads because we read a lot of the same books and it’s great to have buddy reads with her.

When I read the blurb for this book I was really interested because it looked pretty cute and a fast read. I’m so happy that I was right about this. I really enjoyed this book and the characters. Claudia is a smart girl who only cares about studying in the beginning of the book and who knows what she wants to do with her life. On the opposite, Chris only cares about playing hockey (in which is great, btw) and has a few difficulties in school. Because of this Claudia starts volunteering as Chris tutor. From the moment they met you can see the chemistry between them. These two were extremely cute every time they were together and they really made me smile a lot of times. I really enjoyed how they helped each other to be more awesome and to grow a lot by challenging each other. This really helped in their character development, especially shown in Claudia’s life. I also really liked the other characters. I haven’t read the first book in the Corrigan Falls Raiders series but after meeting Tyler and Karen in this book I really want to. Another thing I liked is that this book had a dual POV. I really like when books have dual POV’s so I was really happy to find out that this was the case in this book. In the first chapter it confused me a little bit because the POV’s aren’t identified but it’s something I got used too after a few pages.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. This book is really fast paced and extremely cute. If you enjoy this type of young adult contemporary you should definitely give this one a try.

Rating:

4 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

8 thoughts on “Playing Defense (Corrigan Falls Raiders #2) by Cate Cameron – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: March Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

