The Secret to Letting Go by Katherine Fleet – eARC Review

The Secret to Letting GoPublication Date:

February 1st, 2016

Publisher:

Entangled Publishing, LLC

Goodreads Synopsis:

One summer can change everything…

Haunted with guilt after his girlfriend’s death, Daniel Hudson has no interest in committing to anyone. At the end of the summer, he’ll be leaving Florida for a new start in college. If only he could avoid the mysterious new girl in town, who seems every bit as naive and eccentric as she looks. Trouble is, she’s hard to ignore, with her beautiful piercing eyes, pitiful-looking dog, and unsettling tendency of finding trouble.

Clover Scott lived her whole life off the grid and arrives on the Gulf coast in search of her grandparents. She never expected to nearly drown, or get caught in a hurricane, or fall in love with the boy who rescues her. Now, she has a chance to rewrite her life’s story, to finally fit in somewhere, but Daniel wants answers about her past. When the police start asking questions about the disappearance of her parents, she must make a choice: go to jail or confess her secrets—even if they might destroy her chance at a happily-ever-after.

Review:

*I was provided a copy by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

I don’t know how I’ll be able to write this review without giving too much away. This one of that books that is good to go without knowing a lot. But first like just all admire the gorgeous cover that this book has. I’m going to be honest this cover was one of the reasons why I requested this book.

I really liked this book. I loved that it was told in two different POVs and that we could know what was on the MC’s head. The MC’s are completely different from each other but in the end they end up helping each other with the issues they have. Daniel is a normal guy who grew up having everything but that still feels guilty over his girlfriend’s death. One the other hand, Clover is a very mysterious character. In the beginning you only know that she hasn’t had a normal life and that there is something that haunts her life. I spent all book trying to figure out what happened to her for her to be like this. The girl doesn’t even know what an exercise bike is. While the author drops a lot of clues about Clover’s past I was still shocked when I found out the true. I also liked the romance but in the end I wanted a little bit more. My only problem with the romance was how Clover always wanted to get back to Daniel and thought that she needed him in her life. I understand where this comes from but sometimes it would annoy me a little bit. Another thing I loved was the other characters. I loved Daniel’s twin sister Amelia. She was an amazing character and I would read a book about her and Sam because they are the cutest and by now you know how much I love cuteness.

Overall, I really did enjoy this book and even more than what I was expecting. I’m pretty sure that after this I’ll keep Katherine Fleet under my radar because I want to read her next books.

Rating:

4 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

12 thoughts on “The Secret to Letting Go by Katherine Fleet – eARC Review

  1. Great review! This reminds me of Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry in a way, in terms of the two people being different from one another and the mystery surrounding the female protagonist. I might put timhis on my TBR! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: January Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

