Krampuslauf by Holly Black and What the Hell Have you done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman – Mini-Reviews | Blogmas #20

blogmas day 20

Hi guys! I’m back today for Blogmas day 20 and today I’m bringing two more mini-reviews. As you might know I’m re-reading My True Love Gave to Me, edited by Stephanie Perkins. This book is a collection of twelve short stories related to the this season of the year. Today I’m going to be reviewing Krampuslauf by Holly Black and What the Hell Have you done, Sophie Roth? By Gayle Forman.


img_20141220_193704Short Story

Krampuslauf

Author

Holly Black

Rating

3 stars

Review:

This short story was actually the first time that I’ve read something from Holly Black. It was also the first time I heard about Krampus. Until last year I had never heard about that however it was very well explained. The story could have been way better but it had a lot of things that I didn’t understand and I would have liked that it was a little bit better explain. I know that it’s hard because it’s a short story but that was really threw me off about this one.


What the hell have you done, Sophie Roth

Short Story

What the Hell Have you done, Sophie Roth?

Author

Gayle Forman

Rating

3.5 stars

Review:

I really like Gayle Forman’s books so I was expecting a lot from this short story. It wasn’t bad but it also wasn’t the best one. I liked that it was about a jewish girl because most of this book is about Christmas. I also liked how it showed that everything is not what it seems but it was lacking something. I did like the characters and the story but I just didn’t connect. However I did like it, just not as much as some of the other short stories.


This is all I have to say in this mini-review. If I say more stuff I will spoil someone and I don’t want to do that. Have you read My True Love Gave to Me? If so what did you think about this short story?

18 thoughts on “Krampuslauf by Holly Black and What the Hell Have you done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman – Mini-Reviews | Blogmas #20

  1. Pingback: December Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

