Book Traveling Thursdays #18 – Month of Giving

Today is thursday which means that is Book Traveling Thursdays, a weekly meme created by me and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. This weekly meme consists in picking a book related to the weekly theme that is announced in the group Goodreads page (if you want to join click here) at the beginning of each month. After that you can write a blog post where you explain why you choose that book and choose different covers from different countries. To make it a little bit easy you are going to choose different editions of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. This weeks theme is December is the month of giving. Choose a book in which a character gives an amazing gift to a loved one! Instead of choosing a book that has a physical object as a gift I decided to choose a book in which I think a person was a gift to another. Because of that I decided to choose Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I choose this book because I think that Park was gift in Eleanor’s life and her life got a little bit better. Let’s go see some covers.

Original Covers:

original

Let’s start by the first cover. I don’t like that cover at all. I just don’t know why but I don’t like. However, I love the second cover. It’s beautiful, simple and the characters look like Eleanor and Park. This is also the cover that everyone knows and loves.

Cover from my Country (Portugal):

pt 1

The portuguese cover is just like the US cover but the funny thing about the portuguese edition is that in Valentine’s Day last year they had the opportunity to customize the cover with different names. For what I read this cover was a dusk-jacket and the actual cover would have Eleanor & Park written. I think that this was a great idea.

Favorite Covers:

favorite covers

As you might figure out from my previous comments I really loved the US cover. Another of my favorites is the Special Collector’s Edition. I like the blue as a background cover and how it has a close up of the characters.

Least Favorite Covers:

least favorites

The main reason why I don’t like these covers is that the girl never looks like Eleanor. In three of these covers the girl is pretty skinny and not a redhead. How difficult would it be to have a girl who looks like Eleanor? In the cover from Latvia the girl looks like Eleanor but I just don’t like the design and it’s weird.

So this is it, this week Book Traveling Thursdays. What did you think of these covers? Tell me in the comments 🙂

6 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays #18 – Month of Giving

  1. Pingback: December Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

