Book Traveling Thursdays #11 – A Book that has a Character whose Life was Affected by Cancer

Today is thursday which means that is Book Traveling Thursdays, a weekly meme created by me and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. This weekly meme consists in picking a book related to the weekly theme that is announced in the group Goodreads page (if you want to join click here) at the beginning of each month. After that you can write a blog post where you explain why you choose that book and choose different covers from different countries. To make it a little bit easy you are going to choose different editions of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. This weeks theme is October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Choose a book that has a character whose life was affected by breast cancer. Because I never read a book where someone had breast cancer (at least that I remember) I had to twist the theme a little bit and because of that I’m going to talk about a book that deals with another type of cancer. This weeks book is A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks. If you don’t know yet the main character Jamie has leukemia in this book. So let’s start this list.

Original Cover:

original

I do like this cover. I like the colors used and while it doesn’t make me think of the story of the book I still like it especially because part of the book occurs in Autumn and the colors used remind of it.

Cover from my Country (Portugal) and Favorite Cover:

capa pt

Let me tell you how much I love the portuguese cover. I love it. It reminds of the last scene from the movie and that scene is so iconic for me that I have to love this cover.

Least Favorite Covers:

least favorite

Let’s talk about bad covers. The first one (France) doesn’t make me think about this book so I don’t like it. The second one (Spain) is just weird. Why did they use a paper plane for the cover? I don’t understand. The third cover, from Greece, is just creepy. I don’t even know what’s happening in there. Is that a gold statue? Why? The last cover, from Thailand…. I don’t even know what to say about this cover? It makes me think of Greek Mythology and not a Nicholas sparks book. What did the cover designers had in their mind to do this?

So this is it, this week Book Traveling Thursdays. What did you think of these covers? Tell me in the comments 🙂 .

13 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays #11 – A Book that has a Character whose Life was Affected by Cancer

  1. Pingback: October Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

