T5W – Authors I Discovered This Year

t5w new header

It’s that time of the week again when I bring you the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey. If you want to know how T5W works you can go to the Goodreads group by clicking here. This weeks theme is Top 5 Authors I Discovered This Year. This year has been a great year for me when talking about new authors that I discovered and this happened mainly because of the blogging community. Because of that it was hard to choose only 5 of them. So let’s see some of the author I discovered this year.

5. Samantha Shannon

The_Bone_Season_cover1376930396000-XXX-SAMANTHA-SHANNON-jy-142I read The Bone Season in the start of the year and I loved it. In the beginning the book is a little bit confusing because it’s a whole new world but you start getting into it and it’s just an amazing story. I haven’t read The Mime Order yet because I not good with waiting and I don’t want to wait for the 5 books that have yet to be published. However, The Bone Season is an amazing fantasy book and I just hope that the remaining books get to be has amazing as the first.


4. Kasie West

Kasiepic18660447Until now I’ve read two Kasie West’s novels, The Distance Between Us and  The Fill-In Boyfriend and I loved them. They are so fluffy, cute and easy to read. I actually started The Distance Between Us because I asked The team of Epic Read a book recommendation for when you’re in a reading slump and it actually worked 🙂 .In my opinion everyone that is a contemporary fan should try at least one of her books because they are beautiful.


3. Sarah J. Maas

Sarah1Full-TOGThis one should be a surprise for anyone. I started Throne of Glass this year and read A Court of Throns and Roses right after and they are both amazing. Once again I loved the world building and the characters that Sarah J. Maas created. The only reason I have only read the Throne of Glass series until Crown of Midnight is the waiting time. I told you before, I’m not good with waiting for books and I will not read the next two books until the beginning of next year.


2. Becky Albertalli

View More: http://thedecisivemoment.pass.us/becky-headshots51POxFOMEmL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

If you follow this blog and read my post you might know how much I love Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. It’s pretty normal that I had to include Becky Albertalli in this list. I absolutely loved this book and I can’t wait to read more books written by her. If they’re half as good as Simon I’m pretty sure that I’ll love them. All the characters that she created were so amazing. For me this is another must-read for any contemporary lover.

0


1. Jasmine Warga

JWPhotohighresmhaobhcoverMy number one pick is another one that shouldn’t be a surprise for anyone that follows this blog. My Heart and Other Black Holes is one of my favorite books that I’ve read this year and I think that it was an amazing debut novel from Jasmine Warga. This is just an heart-breaking novel that deals with mental illness and it’s just beautiful. This is another author that I want to follow and I can’t wait to read her next works.

0


These are some of my favorite authors that I’ve discovered this year. Believe me that if I could I would include a few more authors 😀 . What about you? What are some of the authors that you discovered this year and love?

10 thoughts on “T5W – Authors I Discovered This Year

  1. I read Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas last year and liked it but didn’t love it. I felt like the only one that wasn’t fangirling over the series. But then I read A Court of Thorns and Roses recently and WOW. Loved it! I was so blown away that I’m tempted to give ToG another try. Enjoyed reading your picks!

    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m like you; the only reason I hadn’t read ToG till now was because I’d have to wait for the next books for SO LONG. But with all the hype aroung QoS, all my resolve melted away into nothing. I did read ACOTAR, though. And I’ve just started the ToG series; I’m reading Crown of Midnight right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: October Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

