Wishing for You (I Wish #2) by Elizabeth Langston – eARC Review

Wishing for You (I Wish, #2)Publication Date:

October 13th 2015

Publisher:

FictionEtc Press

Goodreads Synopsis: 

She’s a girl who can’t remember. He’s the guy she can’t forget…

It’s her final semester of high school, and Kimberley Rey is curious about what will come next. She needs to pick a college, but her memory disability complicates the choice. Will her struggles to remember make it impossible to leave home?

Help arrives through an unexpected and supernatural gift. Grant is a “genie” with rules. He can give her thirty wishes (one per day for a month) as long as the tasks are humanly possible. Kimberley knows just what to ask for–lessons in how to live on her own.

But her wishes change when a friend receives a devastating diagnosis. As she joins forces with Grant to help her friend, Kimberley learns that the ability to live in the moment–to forget–may be more valuable than she ever knew.

Review:

*I was provided an eARC by FictionEtc Press via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

When I finished the first book of this series last month I knew that I wanted to pick this one up (review here). I really liked the first book and the themes that were talked about and one of my favorite characters from the first book was Kimberley. I wanted to know more about her and her problems so I was really happy when I found out that this book was about her. If you don’t know, basically this series centers about this genie, Grant, who grants 30 humanly possible wishes (one a day) instead of the normal 3 wishes to someone who needs it and In this book he is going to be helping Kimberley.
I loved how Kimberley’s story was totally different from Lacey’s. Lacey had a lot of family problems mostly due to her mother depression and the lack of money. While Kimberley also had a few problems this book was mostly about Grant helping her with her short-term memory problems. Because of Kim’s problems she needs her mom to help her in everything so it was great to see Grant helping her becoming more independent and finding something that she loved to do. I also loved her moments with Sean. It’s amazing to see how much they care about each other and help each other during difficult times. While I loved the characters development through the novel it was amazing to see Grant’s development also and that was something that I was expecting mainly because I thought that he had such an amazing development in the first book but in this one he was able to go through some more emotions that he wasn’t used to.
Overall, this was a cute fast pacing book and if you want to read a cute contemporary book with a little bit of magic you should give this one a try. I’m really hoping for another book in this series because there’s one character in particular that I think that needs a genie to help.

Rating:

4 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

One thought on “Wishing for You (I Wish #2) by Elizabeth Langston – eARC Review

  1. Pingback: October Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

