Book Traveling Thursdays #7 – Fall is finally here!!

Today is thursday which means that is Book Traveling Thursdays, a weekly meme created by me and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. This weekly meme consists in picking a book related to the weekly theme that is announced in the group Goodreads page (if you want to join click here) at the beginning of each month. After that you can write a blog post where you explain why you choose that book and choose different covers from different countries. To make it a little bit easy you are going to choose different editions of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. For this week we had to choose a book that brings nostalgic ‘fall feelings’. There is a book that brings me a lot of nostalgic feelings (Meet me Under the Ombu Tree) but I used it for the monster of a book week (check it out here) so I had to choose another one. So for this theme I decided to choose a book that I really loved and for some reason every time I think of a book I feel nostalgic. Once again I bring you a book that I normally don’t hear people talking about that is called The Sugar Queen and was written by Sarah Addison Allen.

Original Cover:

original

I don’t like this cover at all and let me tell you that I probably wouldn’t read this book based only on its cover and that would be a bummer because I really loved this book. I can’t tell you exactly why I don’t like but I just feel that it’s not the right cover even if the picture is beautiful.

Cover from my Country (Portugal):

pt

Let me just tell how much I love this cover and every Sarah Addison Allen portuguese editions. All the books have a similar design to this one (with the exception of the last book 😦 ) and I just love it. I really feel that this cover is a little bit magical and that’s totally related to the author books and the covers are gorgeous. Honestly the covers is the reason why I started reading Sarah Addison Allen’s books. I saw a book with a gorgeous cover, bought it and don’t regret it because they are great books.

Favorite Covers:

favorite

As I said before I love the portuguese editions but I also love the US paperback. Once again, I just think that it the cover brings some kind of magical aspect and it’s a different cover. I really like both of these covers.

Least Favorite Covers:

least favorite

The first of my least favorite covers (France) reminds me of a cooking book and if I saw it I would think that it was one. I also don’t like the russian cover. I think that the picture is not the right picture for this book and once again I wouldn’t buy a book with this cover.

So this is it, this week Book Traveling Thursdays. What did you think of these covers? Tell me in the comments 🙂 .

4 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays #7 – Fall is finally here!!

  1. This is a really great and fun idea for a meme. I’ve always admired book covers from other countries, sometimes I get jealous of how much more beautiful I think they are than my own countries. I will definitely be participating in this meme from now on. 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: September Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

  3. Pingback: Book Traveling Thursdays #56 – Books and Food! | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

