I Wish (I Wish #1) by Elizabeth Langston – Review

20937791Publication Date:

November 19th, 2014

Publisher:

FictionEtc Press

Goodreads Synopsis: 

What Lacey needs is a miracle. What she gets is a genie with rules.

Lacey Linden is hiding the truth of her life—a depressed mom, a crumbling house, and bills too big to pay. While her high school classmates see a girl with a ready smile and good grades, Lacey spends her evenings seeking ways to save her family. On a get-cash-quick trip to the flea market, Lacey stumbles over a music box that seemingly begs her to take it home. She does, only to find it is inhabited by a gorgeous “genie.” He offers her a month of wishes, one per day, but there’s a catch. Each wish must be humanly possible.

Grant belongs to a league of supernatural beings, dedicated to serving humans in need. After two years of fulfilling the boring wishes of conventional teens, he is one assignment away from promotion to a challenging new role with more daring cases. Yet his month with Lacey is everything that he expects and nothing like he imagines. Lacey and Grant soon discover that the most difficult task of all might be saying goodbye.

Review:

*I was provided an eARC by FictionEtc Press via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

When I read the blurb for this book I decided that I needed to read it mostly because I never read a genie book. However this is not a simple genie book, it’s like a contemporary book, that I love, with a little bit of fantasy. I really liked this book and couldn’t stop reading which means that someone (me 😛 ) stayed up reading until 3 am and ended up reading this book in one-sitting.
The main character, Lacey, has a lot of problems. Her family doesn’t have money for food and she has to be the grown-up because of her mother’s depression. In one trip to the flea market Lacey gets a music box that happens to have a genie, Grant (can we talk about the great name? 😛 ), inside. Of course that with this development a lot happens and Grant starts helping Lacey. One thing I liked is that this is not like normal genie stories. Lacey has the right to 30 humanly possible wishes (one a day) instead of the normal 3 wishes. This was great because it allowed to see the characters development in that time frame. Another thing I really liked was that the romance in this book wasn’t insta-love. You can see their growing feelings through the month. I also enjoyed how in the end of each chapter we could read Grant’s letters to his boss with daily developments because you can really see his growth through the letters. I really liked all the characters, especially Lacey little brother Henry, and I loved to see that a lot of people really cared about her even if the thought that no one wanted to care about her. My main problem with this book was the ending. I needed more and I needed other things to happen but I understand why the author decided to write that ending.
Overall, this was a cute fast pacing book and if you want to read a cute contemporary book with a little bit of magic you should give this one a try. I know that I will be reading the next book in the series because I need to know more and read more about these characters.

Rating:

4 stars

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you haven’t read it would you read it?

2 thoughts on “I Wish (I Wish #1) by Elizabeth Langston – Review

  1. Pingback: September Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

  2. Pingback: Wishing for You (I Wish #2) by Elizabeth Langston – eARC Review | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

