T5W – Favorite Required Reading

t5w

It’s that time of the week again when I bring you the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey. If you want to know how T5W works you can go to the Goodreads group by clicking here. This weeks theme is Top 5 Favorite Required Reading. When I first saw this week’s theme I thought that I didn’t read a lot of required books but after some research I found out that I’ve read a few. I’ve read some of these books when I was really young which means that I don’t remember a lot about them but I remember and I’m not going to try to write anything about them but I still know that I enjoyed to read them. As may know I’m from Portugal so I’m pretty sure you will not recognize any of these books. However I decided to do this week theme anyway. So let’s start this list.

5. Frei Luís de Sousa – Almeida Garrett

4. Auto da Barca do Inferno – Gil Vicente

This is an is an allegorical play that gives a glimpse of the Lisboan society in the early 16th century in a satirical way. I remember about this because we actually had to act in the portuguese classes. As you may imagine it was pretty funny so that’s the reason it had to be in my list.

3. Ulisses –  Maria Alberta Menéres

2. A Menina do Mar – Sophia de Mello Breyner Andresen

1. Os Maias – Eça de Queirós

A lot of people don’t like this book (maybe because we normally don’t like required books) but I absolutely loved this book. Actually this was the book that made me enjoy reading. Before I read this book I didn’t read a lot but after this that changed. This means that this book had to be my number 1 pick. I couldn’t do this differently :).

Frei Luís de Sousa  Auto da Barca do Inferno  Ulisses  A Menina do Mar  Os Maias

These are my favorite required reading. What about you? Which books did you included in your top? Tell me in the comments.

6 thoughts on “T5W – Favorite Required Reading

  1. Pingback: August Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

