T5W – Favorite Character Tropes

t5w

It’s that time of the week again when I bring you the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey. If you want to know how T5W works you can go to the Goodreads group by clicking here. This weeks theme is Top 5 Favorite Character Tropes. I had a lot of problems by figuring out my favorite character tropes but I managed to get a list. So let’s start this list.

5. Love Triangles

I know that a lot of people don’t like love triangles but I actually like them. Well, I like love triangles when they are well done and the love triangle doesn’t overpower the main plot of the book. Cassandra Clare and Sarah J. Maas did a great job in The Infernal Devices and Throne of Glass. I love that love triangles and how it doesn’t feel forced.

4. Character Falls in Love with their Best Friend

This is one of that tropes that I like because I think it’s cute to see the feelings between each other growing up and how it’s not an insta-love thing.

3. Traumatic Childhood

This is a trope that I like because I think that a traumatic childhood makes a book more interesting and it also defines the character when he/she grows up normally in a good way.

2. Bad Boy meets Good Girl

Look, this is an guilty pleasure of mine. I love when a bad boy meets a good girl and starts showing that he actually has a good side. Don’t ask me why but sometimes I need to read this kind of books and I love it.

1. Kick-Ass Female Characters

This one is a no-brainer. I love kick-ass female characters. I love how they don’t need a guy to define their life and how they can save themselves from difficult situations. Normally if a book has a kick-ass female character I will read it because I love them and I love to read about it.

These are some of the my favorite character tropes. What about you? Which characters tropes did you included in your top? Tell me in the comments.

7 thoughts on “T5W – Favorite Character Tropes

  1. I also love the best friend trope as it’s something I can really relate to! The bad boy meets good girl is something I can’t resist in fiction though I would run a mile in real life haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: July Wrap-Up | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a Reply

