Beyond Reach (True Calling #2) by Siobhan Davis – Review (SPOILERS)

Publication Date:

April 30th 2015

Publisher:

Independent

Goodreads Synopsis: 

SOME SECRETS ARE WORTH FIGHTING FOR

Back on Earth, Ariana is caught in a dangerous crossfire between clandestine rebel organization Clementia and the power-hungry government. Refusing to divulge the location of the secret information entrusted to her by her late father, she desperately tries to bargain for her Mom, Lily, and Cal’s rescue. She’s fighting a losing battle, and the clock is ticking.

Presented with evidence of her fiancé Cal’s apparent betrayal, she loyally defends him despite her concerns. With her emotions in turmoil, matters become even more complicated as she grows closer to her ex-boyfriend Zane.

When the stakes are raised, a succession of shocking revelations rocks her world, setting her on a path that will not only change her destiny but the fate of humanity.

Confronted by a memory so abhorrent comes a truth she would do anything to forget.

But some things just can’t be undone.

Review:

First I would like to thank Siobhan Davis and NetGalley for giving me an ARC of this book for an honest review.

I have to say to you… I liked True Calling but this one was even better. This book starts where True Calling finished and with Ariana back to earth without her family and without Cal. Throughout the book you can see her development as a character and her struggle about who she should trust and how she feels about Cal and Zane. So yeah, it was great to see her growth in this book. However, there were sometimes that I wanted to scream at her for some bad decisions. If you read my True Calling you might know that I didn’t trust Cal but meanwhile I’ve read the novella Lovestruck and I actually thought that I was wrong and I was happy about that. But then I’ve read this book and I wasn’t totally wrong about not trusting Cal. He did some stupid things but I now understand why he did it. And then there’s Zane. I love his bond with Ariana and how we can see how much he loves her with his actions. Also, after the cliffhanger that this book had I’m really excited to see the story is going take Ariana, Zane and Cal and I’m mostly excited to know what Ariana remembered. I’m pretty sure that it’s going to be a big part of the next book. Another thing is that there is so much happening in this book that there isn’t a boring part in this book because there is always something that happens that changes the direction of the story and I really liked it. My only problem with that was that sometimes it was a little bit rushed but overall I was really happy with this book. There were moments that I couldn’t leave my book because something would happen and I needed to know what was coming next. I’m talking to you Chapter 11 last sentence… I was thinking that this thing could happen but I really thought that I was wrong so that wasn’t expected at all.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I’m really excited to see how it’s going to end. The plot was amazing and the author’s writing was pretty good. I actually think that Siobhan Davis writing improved in this book. If you like this type of books and if you like to be surprised read this book.

Rating:

4 stars_new

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it?

3 thoughts on “Beyond Reach (True Calling #2) by Siobhan Davis – Review (SPOILERS)

  1. Pingback: The Coffee Book Tag | The Girl Who Read Too Much

  2. Pingback: T5W – Favorite Self-Published Books | The Girl Who Read Too Much

Leave a comment